Wine touring in Lord of the Rings country

in #wine7 years ago

With my last post being focused on Central Otago in the south of New Zealand, it got me wondering which I enjoyed more - the north or the south? And I couldn't decide! The thing I loved most about NZ was how the landscapes changed literally EVERYWHERE we went. Tropical-looking beaches, desert hills, snow-capped peaks and glaciers - it was like you were being transported to another country around every bend.

Optimized-IMG_0388.JPG

IMG_0712.JPG
At Craggy Range winery in Hawkes Bay (North Island)

When touring the North, I completely fell in love with Hawkes Bay. New Zealand is known for it's Sauvignon Blancs, but give me a Hawkes Bay Chardonnay any day! The picture above is from one of my favourite wineries there. I still can't get over that view! I didn't want to leave and I swear it was the closest I came to ripping up my passport. Go here. Seriously.

Cable Bay winery on Waiheke Island was also a favourite from the North Island. Waiheke is just a short boat ride away from Auckland and a stunning little wine region. However, make sure you rent a car! We were told that the bus on the island was the way to go, but we only saw it once. ONCE. And it's a big island with a lot of hills. If wine touring while walking up hills for hours is your thing then good on ya, but we can't be friends.

IMG_0044.JPG

IMG_0056.JPG
View from Cable Bay winery, Waiheke Island

One of the coolest things about the North Island was that you are actually driving through Lord of the Ring's country! This probably meant more to my husband than it did me at the time (I watched the movies only because I knew we were going there), but now I'm a big fan so don't hate me. They actually filmed all over NZ, but Hobbiton, or 'The Shire', specifically was filmed in the rolling green hills of the North. And in amongst our wine touring, we stopped by.

IMG_2635.JPG

IMG_0459.JPG

I left New Zealand knowing that I would visit again. I think you should too. Thanks for reading! ;)

Sort:  

Like you did, I watched at Lord of Rings only for my son’s pleasure but I enjoyed. Your pictures are really beautiful, thank you for sharing :)

Beautiful photos! thanks for sharing!

Wow! It reminds me of "The Hobbit" & "Lords of the rings" movie. This place looks so peaceful. I worth visit when you just want to rest from your busy schedule. Awesome. Following you. Cheers!!!

I can live in Shire forever :) I am affected and miss Bilbo Baggins :) Nice post and travel I must see this place .

nice and informative article

I really want to go to this place ... thanks for sharing these photos ... awesome

I love the pictures with you in them the most <3

comfortable it seems to be there, want to go there...
Greetings from aceh for you...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63476.83
ETH 3413.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50