Wine events and why you should be going to them

in #wine6 years ago

This is a topic that I've been thinking about for a while. I've talked to so many people over the years who say they would like to attend more wine tasting events but never get around to it. Well, it's time to get around to it! If you are interested in broadening your palate and your knowledge, or even if you just like to enjoy a glass of Merlot after work, these events are great for introducing you to wines you may not have even known about.

vanwinefest.jpg

There are lots of tasting events that are open to the public. If you live in a big city or close to a wine region, there's a good chance that they do a couple of big annual wine events. I'm a West Coast Canadian girl, so every year I attend the Vancouver International Wine Festival. It is an incredible wine show and is widely credited as the best wine event in North America. There are over 800 wines being poured from about 15 different countries, and each year has a theme region or country. It's a great opportunity to meet winemakers and owners and ask them questions about the wines you're tasting. Even if you're a wine newbie, there are so many people at these things that no one would even know! It's an opportunity to blend, learn, and taste.

vicwinefest.JPG

winefest.JPG
Source: vanwinefest.ca

These events usually offer multiple seminars as well. There will usually be a cost, but if you want to understand the small ins and outs of certain wines or regions, the cost is totally worth it. Trust me ;)

Do you want to know the difference between a Australian Shiraz and a French Syrah? A Oregon Pinot Noir vs. a New Zealand Pinot Noir? Napa Chardonnay vs. a Hawkes Bay Chardonnay? These seminars are where you can learn (and taste!) the difference. Are you starting to wonder why you haven't been going to these all along?!

wineflight.jpg

Make time in your schedule to attend at least one and see how you like it. The worst case scenario would be that you went to a wine tasting on a Wednesday afternoon. At least you can mention it over brunch with friends and sound sophisticated yet humble ;)

Thanks for reading <3

Jen

Sort:  

Blech! I can’t stand it when people hold a wine glass like they’re handing out a business card. When did that ever take place? Nothing says douchebag more.

Meh. There's always gonna be haters :)

There aren't events like this near where I live. Looks like it might be interesting.

nice post. cheers

I've been thinking to go to this one last year, but I guess I forgot about it. Thanks for sharing .. I guess I can go this year then :)

How nice if there is this kind of event in a nearby place. But sadly, wine is not somewhat part of our culture. Maybe Rum hahaha.. Since you are Canadian and history tells us that French have been in your lands in the past then I presume that you people love wine as French do. Cheers :)

Red wine is the most amazing drink, and also good for our heart. I went to Italy to learn how to drink it properly :))

"Good wine praises itself." - Dutch Proverb. There is nothing like wine for conjuring up feelings of contentment and goodwill. Salute!

Great event , wish I was there.

I lived in Brazil, a place not very popular with wines. But whenever I had a chance I would also go to wine events, that was the best way to learn, and of course, enjoy the moment!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60853.02
ETH 2904.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62