Sommelier Life on a Harbour Cruise

in #wine6 years ago

I'm literally counting down the days until warmer weather! In BC that usually means July, August, and a bit of September, so we still have a ways to go. I've been doing a lot of daydreaming lately about things we did last summer and all the traveling we have done over the past couple years, which is why my last couple posts have been about those moments. Sooo I figured I'd tell you about ANOTHER event from last summer! 😜

A friend of mine works for a cancer charity and had asked if I would volunteer my sommelier services for a silent auction prize. Of course my answer was yes!!! The prize included a harbour cruise on a sailboat for 12 people with food, wine, and their own private sommelier (ME!) included. I had volunteered for this sometime in October, and all of a sudden it was July and I received a phone call about scheduling the cruise. I had completely forgotten about it! Luckily we were able to get it all organized in time, and I was even able to reach out to a winemaker friend of mine to donate some surprise bonus wine for the group! 🥂🥂

IMG_1163.JPG


The day of the cruise, it was gorgeous out!


IMG_1171.JPG


Somming these type of private events is one of my favourite things to do! They're always more intimate and you get an opportunity to really get to know the people you're pouring for. The catering company did an amazing spread and the wines provided I knew really, so it went off without a hitch!


IMG_1168.JPG

IMG_1179.JPG


It couldn't have been a better day. Teaching people about wine while sailing on the coast of BC is pretty much a dream scenario for me. As we headed back, the sun was setting on a perfect day :):)


IMG_1185.JPG

Thanks for reading!

Jen🍷

upvotegif2.gif

Sort:  

The best moments are in family and with good friends, good post.

How does kpine rate you all the publications? I need good votes.

What should I put in order for kpine to vote for me?

That would have been amazing. Is that false creek you were in?

Not False Creek, this was Victoria! False Creek is so pretty though! :)

I actually live on Vancouver's False Creek. I was hemming and hawing if it was Victoria or up by Olympic Village way. Amazing how they resemble each other. How was the Joie?

Joie is always great! :)

How much wine did you end up taking down?

wow. that's probably every body's dream. cruising with food, drinks and friends. nice.

Wow these are really nice traveling photos I do wish steemit will help me earn enough steem to travel

For travelling is learning

You're an inspiration thanks for sharing

Excelent this wine is cold and refresh uffff 😃🍷

Beautiful photos, and the wine must have been tasty ;)

These are great photos! Love the view from the boat. Beautiful.

The photos do make it look a perfect day with perfect food, perfect company, and perfect wine! What an excellent opportunity you had to participate in such an event. I am looking forward to summer so very much after the crazy winter we have had this year. I am very much looking forward to many beach days and even sunburns lol. Thanks so much for sharing! - Ivy

Nice blog 😘

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.17
JST 0.033
BTC 64258.81
ETH 2772.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65