Champagne is not just for New Year's Eve anymore!

in #wine7 years ago

IMG_5411.JPG

Ok, here it is. I'M OBSESSED WITH BUBBLES! People who say sparkling wine is just for celebrations will not be receiving a Christmas card from me! Any time is a good time for bubbles in my book. Out for brunch? Bubbles. Catching up with mom? Bubbles. Finally got to a new level in Candy Crush? Definitely bubbles (that game is hard!). Whatever the occasion, people are starting to see that sparkling wine can be enjoyed in a more casual way.

The best of the best come from the Champagne region in France. For those of you who don't know, Champagne is the region - not a grape variety or a town or just the term for all bubbly wines. Sparkling wine is made all over the world, but unless it is produced in this region, it cannot be called 'Champagne'. I can't begin to tell you how many people will ask for a 'glass of Champagne' in my restaurant, not realizing that they've just ordered a pretty pricey (but worth it) drink. If this is what you were looking for, great! If however, you were just wanting a sparkling wine, ask for that and your server will direct you to the selection that they offer. *This lesson has been brought to you by my crappy night at work

I was lucky enough to get to visit Champagne and it was incredible. It's less than a 2hr drive from Paris, so add it to your itinerary if you find yourself in the City of Love. Our first stop was the historic Moët & Chandon.

IMG_5432.JPG

This is who produces the prestigious Dom Perignon. Even non-wine drinkers will know that name. Having a chance to learn more about this place and visit their underground cellars will forever be ingrained in my memory. Tours are available and worth every penny, but make sure you book ahead - they are popular! You'll find this Champagne house in Épernay, France.

IMG_5433.JPG

IMG_5451.JPG

IMG_5453.JPG

Another one I had to see before leaving was Taittinger. Like Moët & Chandon, this is one of the most iconic Champagne houses in France. Whenever I find myself shopping for Champagne, I always end up gravitating over to my beloved Taittinger; it is just one of those brands that you know will never let you down. It is located right in the center of Reims, France and is not too hard to find, which is refreshing because some can be! But don't be fooled by the easy directions, because once you are underground in their cellars you could easily get lost. These cellars date back to the 4th century when the Romans mined the area for chalk, and once you're down there you almost feel transported back to that time.

IMG_5321.JPG

IMG_5369.JPG

IMG_5410.JPG

I hope now when someone says to you 'Sparkling wine? What is it, your birthday?', you feel empowered enough to say 'Nope, it's just a Tuesday'.

Thanks for reading <3

Sort:  

Good article!
I also would like to go to this cellars. We are really admitted also to champagnes.
I wish cheers with this picture from my latest treasure
viber image.jpg

Good article. I have actually never tasted champagne but hope to someday. I do sip on a glass of red wine every evening while I cook dinner because cooking makes me nervous. The wine calms my nerves while I cook and I actually wind up cooking a better meal. Ha!

I love this LOL! You gotta try champagne though, just find a reason to celebrate

I totally agree, bubbles are for all occasions!!!

Lovely very nice post friend

To celebrate not only at Christmas, any date and reason is good to savor those bubbles. The photos are spectacular.

disfruto su publicación excelente @travelingsomm

Great Champ!

Thanks for sharing this with us. White wine is my favorite but I wouldn't say no for a pink glass of Champagne even on Tuesday hihi. Cheers ! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67441.24
ETH 3492.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81