Central Otago - land of Pinots!

in #wine6 years ago

Hi Steemians! Thank you so much for the incredible support I received on my introduction post! I was blown away by the response, and I will do my very best to answer all of your questions. Someone had asked me what my top 3 wines were and I mentioned New Zealand Pinot Noir. Vague, I know, as there are multiple regions and hundreds of producers that make pinot noir in New Zealand, but to narrow it down to a favourite region and specific wine would be difficult. However, I did give an example of one that I love - Felton Road!

IMG_1443.JPG

My husband and I spent 3 weeks driving through the major wine regions of NZ, and we were lucky enough to be hosted by Felton Road when we arrived in Central Otago. This region is inland on the South Island near Queenstown. What we didn't realize when we got there was that most of the wineries are closed on the weekends, so we spent the first couple of days relaxing and taking in the gorgeous surroundings. When Monday rolled around, we made our way to some amazing cellar doors. Note - a cellar door (or CD) is a tasting room. Most wineries I had been to beforehand, mostly in North America, called them tasting rooms so when I started hearing people say 'Go to this cellar door, go to that cellar door' I thought we'd be going down to the cellar. It threw me, so I thought I'd save you the confusion! :)

IMG_1450.JPG
Our view from Felton Road's accommodation

Otago has so many great wineries, so if you ever find yourself in New Zealand put it on your list! Here are a few others that we visited and fell in love with:

Amisfield (William and Kate have been here!)
Peregrine
Chard Farm
Mt. Difficulty
Aurum Wines

IMG_1374.JPG

Where to stay? Queenstown is less than a 2hr drive away. Snowboarding, bungy-jumping, getting your Fergburger fix - only a few things that this amazing town has to offer. I'm not much of an adrenaline junky, so I went straight to Fergburger.

IMG_1366.JPG

Thanks for reading!

Sort:  

As you talked about wines! I remembered my neighbor who said he took wine for his heart problems then. I can attest that drinking wine especially quality one is good. I wouldnt miss it if i am to vist New zealand some day.

Conocer, degustar y sonreír. Són muchas las ventajas de buenos viajes.

Totalmente de acuerdo

I would definitely love to visit New Zealand sometime. I havent ever left my country so thats like on my bucket list. I'd love to have a taste of a pinot noir. You make it already taste awesome. And great picture between, they couldnt have been done better.cheers!!

What a joyous moment you had? I have never had any experience with wine.

It's funny that someone would try to attract tourists only on weekdays.

That looks like a wonderful trip! New Zealand is definitely going to be the next big trip I take. More tips for things to see and getting around New Zealand would be appreciated!

New Zealand. An awesome dream for every girl. I want to share with you that: I like your sport shoes .

One time I had a few minutes with someone who teach others about wines, how to keep the glass, how to taste, how much to drink then spit...anyway you look like that person, nice, sociable and full of enthusiasm. You rock girl!

Irina V.

wow so good i mean the place the glass ..

wow .. a very awesome experience, but what is amazing to me again is, the beauty of nature is so vast ordinary. success is always my friend

Good luck you post

Im like post ,,thanks for shearing news post

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62934.09
ETH 3118.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85