Exploring Wineries Near Charlottesville Virginia | Pictures & Ratings

in #wine8 years ago

My girlfriend and I joined her parents on a winery trip this past weekend near Charlottesville Virginia. We did tastings at a total of 5 wineries. In one day. 

I will begin with the best and go down the list, ending with our least favorite winery. 

On a side note, we as a group are bigger fans of red wines than whites. Personally I am a big fan of Cab Sauvs (Cabernet Sauvignon).

Stone Mountain Vineyards

Rating 9/10

Stone Mountain Vineyards is the best winery I have been to in 2016. (My girlfriend and I frequent wineries and tastings often) The wine isn't to die for. I have had better. But the wine was still very good and coupled with this view, it's amazing. 

The Winery is literally on top of a small mountain. The dirt road to get to the top should not be attempted without 4 wheel drive.

This next picture is from inside the winery looking out of a circular window onto the deck. 

 

Outside.

She is ready! 

Us on the deck.

And here are the wines!

Favorites were the Bacon Hollow Sunset, Chardonnay 2015 and the Cab Franc. Many bottles were purchased. :)

http://www.stonemountainvineyards.com/

Glass House Winery 

Rating 7/10

Glass House is a super cool winery. The wines were decent and they have a green house! 

The vineyard outside. 

The tasting menu.

Our favorites were the Barbera and the dessert wine. 

Here is the full list of their wines. 

http://www.glasshousewinery.com/

Early Mountain Vineyards 

Rating: 7/10

The wines. 

The Novum 2013 was my favorite. The others were not really distinct. 

https://earlymountain.com/

Stinson Vineyards

Rating 7/10

The wines at Stinson Vineyards were solid. We bought a few bottles to take home. The Vineyard is rather plane. They do have wifi which is necessary in the area. Cell towers are scarce. 

My personal favorite was the Meritage 2013.

https://stinsonvineyards.com/

Loving Cup Winery

Rating: 4/10

Loving Cup Winery is all about dogs. Their branding is saturated with dog stuff. Which is cool but their wines were rather poor. Some people in our group would not finish their tastings. . . But they do make pretty good sangria. 

No favorites here. 

https://www.lovingcupwine.com/


I hope you enjoyed the pictures and details. The trip was fun and I would suggest visiting all the wineries listed except Loving Cup. 

All pictures are my own. 


Sort:  

Nice post and beautiful photos.

Thank you :)

The first image is not my own. Source: pixabay.com Forgot to include that. :P

Very good post!! Definitely worth curie attention. Keep it up @slickwilly

Thanks for the compliment! Will do.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59987.83
ETH 2418.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41