Wine: Julian Reynolds Grande Reserva 2007 - An exceptionally good wine from an extraordinarily good year. Limited to 10.000 bottles.

in #wine7 years ago

* * *

A

very

v e r y

Good Choice!

* * *

20170706_110548-COLLAGE.jpg

A few days ago I went back to the wine shop A Vinha Garrafeira in Ponta Delgada to ask for a really good wine under EUR 20.

Untitled5_006.jpg

The friendly and knowledgable saleswoman showed me a couple of bottles and I decided to take a Reynolds Grande Reserva 2007.

logo_preto.png

IMG_20170705_191606.jpg

2007 - as well as 2011 - were extraordinarily good harvests for the wineries of Alentejano, Portugal.

The soil is mostly shale and the 100 acres of wine are located amid the Santa Mamede hills which provide a natural water drainage and perfect sunlight.

Untitled5_005.jpg

Untitled5_008.jpg

(Images are screenshots or downloads of the above linked websites and Google Maps or taken by myself)

The grapes used are Trincadeira (40%), Syrah (20%) and Alicante Bouschet (40%). Alicante Bouschet is a cross of Petit Bouschet - which itself is a cross of Teinturier du Cher - and Aramon. The latter was crossed by the Reynolds family and cultivated since 1866.


The grapes were harvested at night and poured seperately into Seguin Moreau oak vats without pressing and under temperature control. After the fermentation period they went into Seguin Moreau oak barrels for the malolactic fermentation for 18 months and then spent another 18 months in bottles. The next 5 years they were kept in the cellar before releasing them on the market.


Taste


  • Red fruits, mostly cherry
  • Chocolate
  • Exotic herbs
  • Elegant and smooth tannins
  • Long persistence
  • Wood
  • Goes well with spicy food, grilled fish and red meats



It has 14.5 percent alcohol and is much stronger than the Monte Velho I wrote about recently which has 13%. Here you can see the back of the bottle.

IMG_20170705_195245.jpg

In the glass

IMG_20170705_193007.jpg

Photo made through the glass (it is garnet red and darker than the Monte Velho)

IMG_20170705_203519.jpg


Compared to the Monte Velho it is less dry and features the romantic attributes of a Zinfandel without being too sweet. A natural and pure wine for you and your loved ones.


IMG_20170705_195515.jpg


Enjoy!

Sort:  

More success to you.

Wow, it always blows my mind to hear how much work goes into just one bottle of wine. This is such an informative post. Ah, and now I'm 21 so I'm way more interested in this topic.

On the website of Reynolds you can find all info. Plus the better pics. The wine costs 17 euro and is high-quality. The most expensive bottle I've ever bought. Tat they harvest at night is nuts haha. Thanks, I needed 2-3 hours to make it and to make the pics 1 hour.

Very good work in this article and how little I could see in your profile successes and thanks for sharing

You are welcome. Thanks a lot. I will update my profile, thx for that too!

Cool post. I liked the photo with the sun behind the glass. I love the fact the winery has been in the family 150 years and still producing good wine.

I wish the through-the-glass shot would have been better. Next time I will top it :)

I love wine and grow grapes, 20 different varieties here in Florida, but only for my own consumption and gifts. I am currently posting about wines in California during a road trip last week. Wine lovers always make good friends, Now following you and upvoted you

That you grow grapes is interesting. To get a reply to a rather aged post is great. Just like opening a bottle of aged wine... :)

I will make another wine report for sure. Stay tuned :)

Super cool liked it so much law in this article I'll share it on my profile

Can I have 2 bottles free please
1 to drink and one to keep?

I only bought 1 bottle, sry. You can order at the shop I linked above .

No worries
Thanks
Enjoy it

I hope you had a great company to drink it :d

Her name was Mary..

awesome

very good and informative post. The wines from Portugal are very underrated, both red and white. You should check out #steempub for more great posts like yours, lots of wine and beer reviews. Cheers from @steempub-trail!

Thanks for the tip, thx for the reply

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 68418.37
ETH 3743.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65