Degustation of a 2012 RIOJA Lomas del Marquez along a 3 months old Cheddar cheese

in #wine8 years ago

So first is first, WHAT are we drinking?

IMG_7365559e1.jpg

This is a red dry Spanish wine, from the famous Rioja region (the best in Spain). It is a 2012 (the harvest of the wine that is!).

(A lot of people tend to think that the year on the label, is the year the wine was made, that is untrue. It is the year of the harvest)

IMG_73516b5ab.jpg

The name of the winery is Criadores de Rioja.
The grapy type is Tempranillo (one of my FAVOURITE)!

Tempranillo_image_3a1b78.jpg

Crianza (its on the label) means that the wine is at least 2 years of age, out of which 6-12 months the wine spend in an oak cask before aging in the bottle.
Ours is 4 years old now (This is not an expensive wine, so I wouldn’t recommend buying it, if it’s over 5 years of age)

IMG_735587c44.jpg

So, let’s do what we have gathered here for! Let's taste the wine!

“What is blood but the wine of life?”
― Vera Nazarian

IMG_73568fe01.jpg

Serving temperature: Best at 16°C (slightly chilled)
The color: Rubin red, just like the manufacturer states on the label! Very rich, looks gorgeous!
The taste : At first glance you might not "hear" it. But, within seconds, you can smell the early summer cherries and then the slightly roasted vanilla! The taste is quite complicated, but I can give it a solid 7, which is not bad at all!

I am enjoying mine accompanied by a 3 months young Cheddar cheese! Always remember that wine is best served with food.

You can find the rules on how to match your food and wine here

IMG_736441eb9.jpg

I hope you enjoyed this guys! Don’t forget to follow me!

#steemianfoodnetwrok

Sort:  

@ serejandmyself, I am not very wine savvy, I used to enjoying red wine, but lately I guess my taste buds changed, sometime, it tasted good when eating and after the meal the taste changes and it is not so good. Do I need to find better pairing of wine to my foods? Or are some people just wired to not have a taste for wine? Any suggestions?

You are trying too hard, try to enjoy it more. If you dont like it, dont drink it!

Thanks, I just try to get the good wine memories back but failed, for now water is my best friend

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 69345.27
ETH 3816.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67