You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Blackberry season means making homemade Blackberry Wine on my homestead. (My longest post and picture set yet!)

in #wine7 years ago

Nice, I bet that blackberry wine is really good! I once made choke cherry wine from the trees on the property along the stream. Came out really good and the taste got even better after bottled for 1 year. I really enjoy wine and beer making myself too!

Sort:  

I'll have to check out some choke cherries! That sounds interesting. I suspect I know what they are but call them something else, because I've not heard that name before, but have seen cherry trees here and there most places I've lived between Virginia and Florida on the east coast in the mid south where I've lived in six states over the last 25 years.

These trees were in the Rocky Mountains, probably grow a lot of other places too. They cherry is has a very astringent type of taste to it, almost takes your breath away just eating one off the tree. But it does make very good wine and jam. Every summer the local town is selling a lot of chokecherry jam.

I lived in Glenwood Springs for a year and worked on Aspen Highlands as a Lift Op when i was 20 in 1990. It was fun. I might vaguely recall these smelly cherries. Hrm.. that was a lot of drugs ago, man... I'm 48 now. LOL

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59276.59
ETH 2464.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44