Serviceberry Wine survives severe neglect at hands of novice

in #wine7 years ago

Occasionally severe neglect can lead to some amazing outcomes!




IMG_20170615_143345711.jpg


Such is the reality of this, my first batch ever, wine. In 2012 I had gathered buckets full of Serviceberries, otherwise known as Juneberries or Saskatoon berries, on our property and decided to try my hand at making wine. Being 5 years ago I am a bit hazy on my procedure exactly as I did not take notes, which is the only time that has happened. (shame on me!)

I do remember doing the following steps: (orig recipe below)

  • Boiling water and sugar, cooling, into bucket
  • Berries into mesh bag, into bucket
  • Cover, ferment
  • Rack to 5 gallon glass carboy
  • All but forget about it for 5 years, including letting airlock go dry

A couple weeks ago I popped the dry airlock and bung out for a smell and was pleasantly surprised that it didn't smell like pure vinegar. Finally today was my day to actually do something with it, so I cleaned my 3 gallon glass carboy and transferred 3 gallons of wine into it. I added sparkaloid to it and will let it settle out for a week or 2 to ensure good clarity. (pic below)


IMG_20170615_140257389.jpg


I under estimated the amount of wine in the 5 gallon carboy so the 3 gallons was not enough room and I had to sanitize some other containers quickly. I filled the 2 liter swing top, a half gallon mason jar, and the pint mason jar has the very bottom of the carboy so it will need to settle for a week before drinking.




IMG_20170615_170422695.jpg



Thanks to my lack of notes I don't know what my starting gravity was, but I did measure the final and my hydrometer is pegged low at .988 or .986, as low as it will read. I presume it is at least 18% abv by such a low reading and strong alcohol.

Finally, the taste. There is little of a strong berry flavor as the alcohol has over taken it in the front, but it is there in the after taste. The wine is amazingly smooth in the mouth but does feel slightly dry afterwards. The alcohol is up front, but it feels bright and crisp and leads nicely into the light berry flavors beneath.

Original Recipe

From Jack Keller's Site

15 - 20 pounds berries
10 pounds sugar
10 Lemons juice / or 2 cups
5 tsp pectic enzyme
25 pints water
5 crushed Campden tablets
Wine yeast and nutrient
Standard wine making procedures and timeframes

Thank you for reading through my first experience with wine making!

If you would like to know more about the farm, visit our site - Fleming Family Farm

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63780.55
ETH 2618.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82