๐Ÿ‡ฎ๐Ÿ‡น Wine Review: La Fiera Primitivo 2016 (Italy) ๐Ÿท๐Ÿท๐Ÿท๐Ÿท

in #wine โ€ข 7 years ago (edited)

๐Ÿ‡ฎ๐Ÿ‡น Wine Review: La Fiera Primitivo 2016 (Italy) ๐Ÿท๐Ÿท๐Ÿท๐Ÿท

An exciting, value priced wine from northern Italy! I recently brought this wine in for our Limited Reserves series and after buying and tying a bottle, I bought several more... I don't want to let this one slip away without stashing a few more for enjoyment later.

IMG_0545.jpg

La Fiera, The Fair, in an english translation, features an ornate carousel on the white label, reminiscent of the medieval riding fairs in northern Italy. Sporting the ever more common screw cap, it is quick and easy to get inside and reveal your prize!

IMG_0546.jpg

Grown in the Salento region of Italy, this jammy concoction delivers an unexpected cedar nose on the pour. Full of luscious fruit flavors, cherry and blackberry roll out on the palate in a soft, medium bodied parade. Tannins are light to medium although the finish remains smooth and long-lasting. I was hooked from the first sip!

It lay in the glass in an inviting, dark ruby pool.

IMG_0547.jpg

La Fiera Primitivo is an Italian wine made from the same family of grapes as Zinfandel. Descended from the rare Croatian varietal Crljenak, Privitivo is fighting its way towards being officially classified as Zinfandel, much too the chagrin of California wine makers, especially so since Primitivo is so much less expensive than USA Zinfandels.

IMG_0548.jpg

I enjoyed this fantastic value wine with a steak, baked potato and spinach. La Fiera Primitivo held it's own with the beef and would go along well with lamb, pork, or other red meats. I enjoyed it again the next night (and the following!) with a pulled pork dish I stewed in a crockpot. It was an amazing marriage!

IMG_0549.jpg

This is my favorite wine, so far, that I have reviewed here on Steemit. I expect that since this is a Limited Reserve, that I will add several more bottles to my collection before it is no longer available in our store. At $10, I can afford to buy and hold a half dozen bottles. La Fiera receives a hearty Four Glasses ๐Ÿท๐Ÿท๐Ÿท๐Ÿทrating!

Links to Wine.com featuring La Fiera: https://www.wine.com/product/la-fiera-primitivo-salento-2016/355172

Please share your thoughts or let me know if there's anything else in particular you'd like to see in these reviews.

Cheers!

logo.jpg

Sort: ย 

That does sound like one lovely wine. I don't often drink wines from Italy, but the ones I have, I have enjoyed a lot.

People keep posting pictures of food and it is making me very hungry. Your steak looks fantastic.

The wine was terrific!

I really love my steaks! I have several a week. This one was a chuck-eye; one of my favorite cuts. It's often referred to as the Butcher's Ribeye. Just about as good a cut at half the cost...

Now I want steak... my wife is mostly vegetarian so we don't eat much meat. I normally grab a good steak when we're out for dinner. Might have to go on a date this weekend me thinks. :)

Very tasty photo!) Cheers!

I would like to taste La Fiera Primitivo, Northern Italy is a great place to drink wine. I must bring a little to venezuela

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63156.23
ETH 2560.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83