🇺🇸 Wine In Review: True Myth Chardonnay Edna Valley 2014 (California) 🍷🍷🍷🍷

in #wine7 years ago (edited)

Everybody is good at something, the saying goes... Here's where it might be true for me: tasting white wines...

I don't have the most sophisticated palate on the planet. When drinking red wine, beer, or smoking cigars, I sometimes struggle to taste all that is there. I don't have a great sense of smell, and my tongue is of the pedestrian variety, at best. I've largely made peace with this reality by gravitating towards bolder tasting things. If I can push big flavor on myself, I seem to get what I need to be satisfied.

Except when it comes to white wines... For whatever reason, I seem much more capable to differentiate not only subtle flavors, but quality, when sipping a Chardonnay or a Pino Grigio. And while I prefer red wines, Malbecs and CabSav's in particular, I'm not averse to whites. They're just not usually my top choice.

IMG_0634.jpg

I picked up this bottle of True Myth Chardonnay last week as it was marked for close-out at the store. Normally $18, I think I secured it for under $12. We annually reset our wine offering, and we markdown those for quick sale those we will not be carrying going forward to make room for new labels. It creates the perfect moment for experimenting with selections I might not otherwise make. This purchase is a success story.

Clad in a beautiful, vibrant label adorned with butterflies and a woman's countenance, there's an untold story in its design. More on this later... The design quite literally suggests a floral component to this wine, and I thought it would make an interesting piece of art in its own right.

IMG_0633.jpg

A quote from Ralph Waldo Emerson, essayist, lecturer, and poet, takes center stage on the reverse label, suggesting the power of patience as the secret ingredient. Emerson has strong ties to my area, having been born in Boston, and I found this a delightful connection. A well-crafted description of the contents follows.

IMG_0635.jpg

A pale, yellowy complexion reminiscent of days old straw shimmers in my glass. A mixture of a floral and citrus nose holds promise for what is to come, like a warm, summer morning. And upon imbibing, those qualities shine through. Pear, peach, and minerals compete and cooperate for your attention. Full bodied and refreshingly crisp, this is one of the better Chardonnays I have experienced, and would love to, again.

IMG_0637.jpg

True Myth is very balanced. A decent, if short, finish. Tropical fruit flavors suggest an excellent pairing with seafood or chicken. This Chardonnay is not the newer styled buttery concoction, but more of the classic style that I have read about. My research suggests this is the result of grapes planted in cooler climates. There is still an oaky element here, but it does not dominate the profile, it merely contributes to it.

IMG_0636.jpg

Overall, I give True Myth Chardonnay a full four glasses out of five. 🍷🍷🍷🍷 I will look to add a bottle to my collection and hold it until warmer days arrive.

butterfly-3105040__480.jpg

And lest I forget... True Myth Winery is dedicated to helping save the Monarch Butterfly habitat in California. They have begun to plant several milkweed varieties on their property, the preferred plant upon which migrating Monarchs will stop to rest and reproduce.

51uuRkgY2QL._SX394_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg

This was another interesting connection for myself. As a boy, one of my favorite books was Monarch X, the story of the butterfly's migration as tracked by scientists and a young boy who finds tagged Monarchs and reports back on their journey. The book can be found here: https://www.amazon.com/Travels-Monarch-X-Ross-Hutchins/dp/9997506316. Written in 1966, it served as a vanguard, of sorts, for the environmental movement and endangered species programs we enjoy today. Perhaps I was an environmentalist back before it was cool...

Thanks for bringing back that memory, True Myth...

Cheers!

Steemlogo.png

Image credit to pixabay.com, amazon.com, and my own photos
Sort:  

Excellent review Jeff. Nice to see you moving into the whites. I can’t always pick out the full range of flavours and aromas as well. My wife can though. She identified everything even before knowing what she’s drinking.

I love the addition of your Monarch memory. The migration story of that butterfly is incredible.

Thanks, Ian. It was a great memory inspired by that label...

Interesting wine. Of Chardonnay made in the US I really liked Kendall-Jackson Vintner's Reserve.
Cheers!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58672.01
ETH 2437.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44