Wine Time

in #wine7 years ago

Racking Wine

We finally got around to racking the wine. Racking is a process of siphoning the wine must from one container to the next, so as to leave any sediment behind. In fact that is the sole purpose of racking, "to leave the sediment behind."
IMG_0957.jpg

We racked from the 7 gallon carboy into a normal 5 gallon water carboy.

This is a picture of some of the fruit we had to pull out just to be able to rack it properly.
IMG_0958.jpg
Here is a closer picture of the 7 gallon car boy.
IMG_0960 (2).jpg
I ended up with about 4 gallons of wine in the 5 gallon regular water car boy so I added some water and vodka to fill in the head space or "air gap" that I had.

The Numbers

Potential AlcoholBallingSpecific Gravity
22%371.161
10%201.080

The first set of numbers is the initial measurements and then the numbers after racking.
Again this is my first time making wine so any suggestions are welcome.
Thanks,

Sort:  

I suggest you

send me some! Like right now! (or when its done!)

I need to get a clarifier its real foggy looking

following to keep up with your progress. Do you find the water carboy imparts any plastic flavors?

First time I’ve ever tried to make wine. I hope not

Interesting))) But I think plastic bottles are not the best option for this ...

What flavors are you going for with the wine? And how much longer do you need to wait before you can enjoy it?

It’s a Tomato wine with accents of orange. Not real sure

I never imagined that Tomato wine was a thing, really curious how this will turn out. I might be tempted to have a go myself, would you mind sharing the recipe?

16lbs ripe tomatoes
16lbs sugar
6 large oranges
3 lemons
6lbs raisins
yeast
water
Yields 5 gallons. Agian this is my first time making this or any wine so.....

Thanks! Yeh I'll have to see how yours turns out first haha :p

Which fruit type did you use?

16lbs ripe tomatoes
16lbs sugar
6 large oranges
3 lemons
6lbs raisins
yeast
water
Yields 5 gallons.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63126.26
ETH 2596.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76