Windsor Castle, a bit more

in #windsor6 years ago

Ok, so more on Windsor Castle. As I mentioned on the other page, this place is absolutely huge and I think I heard the Royals actually show up here periodically. I can’t prove that but it makes for a good by line to the whole tour. So I left the train station that drops you off within walking distance of the castle and made my way, jockeying for position with the other rabid tourists all the way.

windsor castle (5).jpg
Once I arrived at the entry point, which was up a hill as I think I mentioned the whole place overlooks the town and valley below. To make it easy there is an archway with the sign that reads “To The Castle” for anyone that couldn’t figure it out just based on traffic flow and the fact that it was the only entry open. I forgot to mention that as you approach, the castle grounds were on my left you can see the massive stone walls and guard towers. These features along with the trees, shrubs, flowers and other vegetation that surrounds the place on the outside makes for a stunning appearance.

The people who’ve lived in this place since its creation must have been looooaaaaaded. Inside the grounds is basically a small city by itself, with shops, living quarters for the staff, maintenance buildings, a chapel, the Castle and castle buildings, guard quarters and staging area and a multitude of other structures. It’s impressive by any reasonable measure. The open acreage inside the walls constitute a small park. Unlike Buckingham palace, I was able to get an up close view and pictures when the guards went through their changing process and processions through the grounds. I also was able to get quite close to the guards themselves and shoot some great pictures of me standing beside them.
More on Windsor Castle Here: https://wp.me/P3CC9J-3HN

Visit and subscribe or friend me on my other Social Media and Travel sites and watch as I develop them.
https://wp.me/P3CC9J-6vq

Stay tuned for more

Wizard of Where

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63749.66
ETH 3419.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48