Windsor Castle

in #windsor6 years ago

Ok, so Windsor Castle is absolutely huge and I think I heard the Royals actually show up here periodically. I can’t prove that but it makes for a good by line to the whole tour. So I left the train station that drops you off within walking distance of the castle and made my way, jockeying for position with the other rabid tourists all the way.

windwor castle london zoo  11-1-2010 9-19-05 AM.jpg
Once I arrived at the entry point, which was up a hill as I think I mentioned the whole place overlooks the town and valley below. To make it easy there is an archway with the sign that reads “To The Castle” for anyone that couldn’t figure it out just based on traffic flow and the fact that it was the only entry open. I forgot to mention that as you approach, the castle grounds were on my left you can see the massive stone walls and guard towers. These features along with the trees, shrubs, flowers and other vegetation that surrounds the place on the outside makes for a stunning appearance.

The people who’ve lived in this place since its creation must have been looooaaaaaded. Inside the grounds is basically a small city by itself, with shops, living quarters for the staff, maintenance buildings, a chapel, the Castle and castle buildings, guard quarters and staging area and a multitude of other structures. It’s impressive by any reasonable measure. The open acreage inside the walls constitute a small park. Unlike Buckingham palace, I was able to get an up close view and pictures when the guards went through their changing process and processions through the grounds. I also was able to get quite close to the guards themselves and shoot some great pictures of me standing beside them.

windwor castle london zoo  11-1-2010 9-20-35 AM.jpg
You can tell by the photos that there were quite a number of people there and this occurred early as I wanted to beat the crowds. I did have the opportunity to watch and listen to a small band that marched in and played for some reason. That was a treat by itself as they did a marvelous job and were all dressed in their uniforms. The guards weren’t just walking about either as I noticed. When I saw them they were in groups marching about smartly to retain some sort of decorum, a nice touch I should add. The whole place was immaculate and the grounds were some of the best manicured and laid out I’ve ever seen.

I was able to climb the walls in a few places and take pictures overlooking the city to see what the “Little People or Subjects” were up to. What a time that must have been, centuries ago when the peasant looked up on the hill and tried to imagine what it must be like behind the walls. I took a tour while there and we went through the rooms they allow the public to view.

windwor castle london zoo  11-1-2010 9-20-53 AM.jpg
I saw a room absolutely filled with dolls, doll houses and everything imaginable a doll lover would desire. We saw ancient armor, bows, weaponry, shields, formal dining and ball rooms. We also saw as I recall rooms where the royals and their best buds just hang out or at least they did at one time. I believe someone told me that around 4 million people visit each year, seems like quite a number but I bet tens of thousands turned out during the day I was there. It’s an amazing place and the former inhabitants must have lead an enviable lifestyle. Imagine the upkeep costs for a place of this scale. The utility costs alone must run into the millions of pounds per year if they keep the heat on.

https://wp.me/P3CC9J-6vq

Wizard of Where

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63131.59
ETH 2586.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78