Can I share my Windows VPN connection with other devices nearby?

in #windows5 years ago

Have you ever used a VPN or simply had a desire to share your Internet connection with other devices? Today I made a tutorial showing how you can share your Internet connection with nearby devices.

A few years ago, I visited Scotland and we had to pay a lot of money for one single Internet connection with one single code. It could only be used at one device at the same time. That was lousy, especially considering that it was really expensive and we were six people staying together. So, what did I do to fix the problem?

I used the credentials for the ONE connection on my Windows computer. Then I looked for a way to share my Windows connection with nearby devices, and luckily, that is something that can be done quite easily. Maybe you need to share your Internet connection for the same reason as me, or maybe you want to share your connection with other devices because you have an active VPN connection on your computer that you want to share with another device nearby unable to run a VPN application on their own.

Did you know that the Fire TV and the Fire TV Stick now lets you install and run VPN applications on their platform? If you have such a device, you do not really need to share the Windows VPN connection anymore to let these devices enjoy a VPN connection. But, if you do not want to set up a VPN and use a VPN application on your Fire TV, it can still be done.

But, the Fire TV is the exception... most other devices do not let you run VPN applications directly on them. For example, if you have an Apple TV you will not be able to run a VPN application on that device, and thus, you will not be able to bypass geo-blocks directly on your Apple TV. You can run the VPN directly from your router, or you can just share your Windows VPN connection with the Apple TV (which is much easier).

In the same way, if you have an Xbox or a Playstation device, you will not be able to run a VPN directly on the device, but instead you will have to set up the VPN directly on your router, or as I have just explained, run a Windows VPN connection and share it with nearby devices.

But, how can I share my Windows VPN connection with nearby devices?


It is very easy, or at least quite easy. In Windows 10 there is a hotspot option directly in the settings, but this will not always work, and especially not if you use a VPN. As a result, you will have to find another solution. I have written it down quite detailed in this article explaining how you can share your Windows VPN connection, so read that article if you want to see the solution.

But, if you would rather just see it in action and how I am doing it, check this video on YouTube instead.

You will be in need of a VPN subscription and you will also need to use the Windows program named Connectify. This has helped me out several times, not only in Scotland, but also when I actually want to share my Windows VPN connection with other devices.

If you have tried this and want to share how you shared your Windows VPN connection, or if you have a question or a comment, write it down and I will do my best to help. If you are a regular here on Steemit, do not forget to follow me here for more interesting articles in the future!

Sort:  

Thank you for this information. It'll come in handy sometime.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60752.39
ETH 2904.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73