Welcome To The Windows 10 Creators Update

in #windows7 years ago

Now I am officially a creator. Thank you, Microsoft, for giving me this title.


Yes, my desktop machine was automagically updated while I was away for the weekend. I love these updates.

They pester you with confirmations and you snooze them away every time as long as you can. Then, when you are away from the computer for a day or two ... buuuum. You are updated. Hurrah.


OK, so far so good. Nothing major is broken.

I did notice several minor things, though:

  1. I had to login with my Windows Live password and not the local user password. I guess that the system deducted it is only proper for me this way since I do have Office 365 installed.
  2. There is a Mail icon added to the taskbar. I don't use it so off it goes.
  3. I've noticed that in Textpad accented characters are displayed wrongly. The font that I am using is defined with Western encoding. I could swear that I had it as Central European. Well, the change in Textpad's settings fixed it.

That's it for now. I will report if something else surfaces.

Sort:  

I have stopped Windows from downloading as it drives me nuts

It will happen anyway, I am afraid. It only helps if you switch the upgrades off totally. But then you also switch off security updates so ... not recommended, I am afraid.

Yeah very true, I usually go and check but haven't for a while, I will Now :)

you can update an upgrades you choose. The best thing is, you check the code of the upgrade, what does it contain.

Hello. Are you sure that you can choose not to upgrade to this Creators edition? Because I wasn't able to avoid it.

"The tech giant has removed the automatic upgrade option from PCs that they think may struggle, although that hasn’t barred access entirely.

Owners can still find and manually download the Windows 10 Creators Update, leading John Cable, director of program management for Windows servicing and delivery, to offer this advice"

....and more... on the link below

http://www.express.co.uk/life-style/science-technology/798297/Windows-10-Creators-update-download-Microsoft-warning

Interesting news, thanks a lot for posting the link!

What is the definition of

... PCs that they think may struggle ...
?

I guess that they've got a ton of complaints and had to implement some checks and blocks. Good move nevertheless.

Is this for everyone or only those with a certain windows type?

For Windows 10 only.

What version are you on?

Windows 10. I'll look into it. I haven't seen any prompts

The update schedule might be area specific ...

Seriously, these "auto" updates upset me. My computer was updated automatically too without consent and with updates turned off. I can't believe they do this and get away with it. Hope everything is ok for you!

The same here. It happened with the upgrade from 7 to 10 and now with this Creators update.

It is fairly OK. Now I've noticed that the command shell font is different too.

Nothing major until now...

"Now I'm officially a creator" :'D

Yes, I should frame it and display it someplace prominent :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 64828.66
ETH 3511.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37