Believe in Yourself

in #wilx7 years ago

I'm writing this on Thanksgiving Day in UAE Abu Dhabi. I'm sitting in the home where I was born and raised for my entire life. My family is scattered around the room just a few short feet away.

As I sit back and think about what I'm thankful for this year, I've settled on one thing that seems to have made the difference in my life over and over again. I'm thankful that I believe in myself.

This quality is partially who I am and partially a result of the family and friends that have supported me throughout my life. Regardless of where it comes from, it is the one quality that allows me to not only talk about what I'm grateful for, but also to live it out.

The biggest difference I've noticed between successful people and unsuccessful people isn't intelligence or opportunity or resources. It's the belief that they can make their goals happen.

We all deal with vulnerability, uncertainty, and failure. Some of us trust that if we move forward anyway, then we will figure it out. As I sit here on Thanksgiving, I'm thankful that I'm one of these people.

When I started my business, I was the only entrepreneur in our family in the last century. I didn't have anyone to learn from, but I trusted that I would figure it out anyway.

When I was kicked off a train in the middle of the night while traveling , I was lost and confused. I couldn't find anyone who spoke English, so as the train pulled away I ran along side, hopped back on, and trusted that I would figure it out anyway.

When I've discovered an opportunity that sounds awesome but that I'm not qualified for (which happens often), I trust that I'll figure it out and go for it anyway.

I believe in myself. This confidence has made the difference for me again and again. I didn't need intelligence or opportunity or resources. Just a simple belief in myself.

Sort:  

Congratulations @unstoppable87! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 63894.70
ETH 3178.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63