What I Learned Today: Private Company Gets Permission To Travel To The Moon In 2017 For Commerce!

in #wilt8 years ago

A piece of news which I read today alerted me to the fact that now we have private enterprises which are planning to go to the moon, and one has already been given permission to travel in the middle of 2017.



Nasa’s EM drive propulsion tech will propel us to the Moon in four hours.
And to Mars in 70 days
[Photo Credit]


A private company has managed necessary permission and is set to lift off for the Moon towards the middle of next year. The aptly named Moon Express will take off with a few engineers and over 20 entrepreneurs on board. I can only presume these guys are going on a survey of some sort, to ascertain what could be exploited commercially.

Though not very clear in the report in question, a reference to mining has me think that if they are spending money to go there, they would have figured out how to profit from it as there seems to be new regulations to look into that.
A portion of the article reads.

Moon Express will ride a purchased rocket, land on lunar soil and thanks to recent regulations, will be able to keep what they mine

But the real intention of the whole exercise comes through the statement of Naveen Jain, co-founder of Moon Express, who has been quoted as follows:

On the Moon is enough Helium-3 to solve Earth’s energy crisis. Bringing back Moon rock will make it even rarer than diamonds and that means it will have the potential to disrupt the gems industry here. Lovers once asked for the Moon and well, you’ll have it soon. Like I said, this is just the start. On Earth we’re running out of space but when you look up, all you see is real estate. We were always meant to be a multi-planetary society and these are the early days of something phenomenal.

I had been under the impression that travelling to the moon is an expensive job but the facts given in the article was shocking in that, the military budgets of some countries are many times bigger than the cost to travel to the moon, and now most can afford it, including private companies out to make some profit out of this as well.

I have the link to the article below and I would ask you to read it too as I was fascinated by the sales talk, which might be a precursor to the way things are marketed in the future. And at this rate, we can be assured that humans will have a base on the moon one day!


Link to the source of this post:

http://www.deccanchronicle.com/science/science/271116/new-frontiers-to-the-moon.html


Disclaimer: These are not my opinions but just my relaying news as it is. I have also used the @news tag but my main tag is @wilt, which I created as I was accused of "milking" the @til tag for whale votes, which has never been my intention in the last five months here.



If you like my work, please up-vote and read more at @norbu.
You may also click the down-arrow next to my name (before my reputation score below) to follow me. Or you may just re-steem to share the love! 😊


Sort:  

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the first half of Nov 27. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $4.74 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Nov 27 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

it's absolutely an amazing news

I can see how the article you used makes it look like people are going to the moon but Moon Express is sending a robot to the moon. It's part of the Xprize competition.

This article did catch my eye, but I did not know they are sending robots, in fact the article says that some engineers and around 20 entrepreneurs are part of the trip. But thanks for clearing that up!

yeah I checked the article it was misleading, I think they should have said the engineers and entrepreneurs are building the robot for the trip.

Hey, @norbu, check out the Moon Express website itself... More details there, and a better presentation than the article you linked.

I hope they are successful... The only "red flag" I see is begging for permission from their overlords... :0

Thank you for the link, but I feel the red flag is the only thing left for their egos!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63209.62
ETH 2570.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76