Bootiful Plumage

in #wildlife6 years ago

Last weeks wintery weather drove a few birds into our garden we rarely see.

These cheeky fellas arrived en masse and took residence in the less than glamorous bird table. I checked my Collins Bird Guide, in winter plumage there appears to be no distinction between male and female and I know we are not supposed to anthropomorphise but I cannot see them as anything other than a group of young males larking around (excuse the bird pun).ABM_9829.jpg
We had 5 or 6 of these very territorial Blackbirds digging through the snow when they weren't fighting one another - but that gave the Starlings plenty of opportunity to sneak in and take the food
ABM_9863.jpg
The old regulars were not to be outdone - half of dozen of the local Robins took advantage of the confusion to stock up - even finding time for a rest of Gladys's shoulder
ABM_9872.jpg
My favourite is the Thrush, very nervous but so beautiful they are a struggle to capture.ABM_9968.jpg
Really unusual and clearly driven in from the fields by the weather was a flock of Redstarts (well I think that is what they were) - only seen these 2 or 3 times in the 11 years we have been here ABM_9960.jpg.
The Nuthatches and Tree Creepers all but eluded my focusing ability but they didn't go hungry as the final shot of the day provedABM_9980.jpg

Sort:  

Hi @timmartin... Great photos...

We also had a those birds that you call redstarts... I looked them up and they were described as 'redwings'... are they the same ones? My photos are not as good though :)

oooooh - I love learning stuff. You are right - they are Redwings - I should have looked at the book harder. Thanks for sharing and helping.

I had never seen those beautiful birds here before @timmartin, so I took the photos and then I had to check many places to see what they were ! There were more than 6 of them looking for food in amongst some dry leaves together with robins, blackbirds and then were scared off by the magpies...

Good to see another post, Tim.

Congratulations @timmartin! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Christmas Challenge - Send a gift to to your friends

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @timmartin! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54681.92
ETH 2286.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29