Volunteering at a Wildlife Rehabilitation Center

in #wildlife6 years ago (edited)

Back in 2011-2012 I volunteered once a week at the Hope for Wildlife Society in Seaforth, NS. At the time I was working a great job in the city and only had four day work weeks. I decided I needed to give something back on my extra day off so I decided to volunteer that day. I started at the centre as a pick-up driver. I would drive all over the province to pick up injured wildlife to bring to the centre. The best part of that job was releasing fully rehabilitated animals back into the wild. I was lucky enough to help release their first successfully rehabilitated harbour seal. It drew a crowd and the media was involved.
I thought I would share some of the videos I captured of my time at the centre, enjoy!

Baby Squirrel


Baby Raccoon

Bald Eagles

Raccoons

Fischer

Canada Geese Goslings

Ralph the pelican ended up in Halifax after a really bad storm. He landed on the roof a the local strip club named Ralph’s Place so that’s where he got his name. Funny enough they found out shorty after he was actually a she but the name stuck. She became a bit of a celebrity in the local news because many people in NS have never seen a pelican. She was messy but it was really cool feeding her. She would often waddle behind me at I did other work around the main barn. A pilot volunteers to fly her back into the states in his small plane a few weeks after this was taken.

Sort:  

It's weird I just got the notice that you posted this 21 days after you actually posted it. This post should have gotten more attention than it did for sure. I remember going with you to release those owls in the valley. I was actually just looking at the picture of them the other day.

Owls.jpeg

Yeah I drove by that barn the other week. That was a really cool part of the job!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 69155.39
ETH 3757.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67