Fantastic Mr. Fox

in #wildlife6 years ago

IMG_3031.jpg

Grey Fox.

IMG_3024.jpg

We caught our uninvited house guest on our roof. Uninvited but most welcome because he is sooooo cute! This is the first time we got a really good look at him out in the open. We have been reading up on grey foxes. They are the only fox that climbs trees. That explains a lot lol. We are starting to come to the reality that we are going to have to encourage him to move along. I think we will try to close up the place he is getting under the roof so he will go and find another place to live. I'm a little concerned about having someone trap and relocate him because coyotes, bobcats, and golden eagles are all grey fox predators. I want to make sure he finds a safe place and think he may have a better chance around here where he is familiar.

Dublin, California. December 5, 2018. All photos original.

Sort:  

Cool picture, I think it will be hard from keeping him from coming back.

Thanks. You are probably right. Another warm, dry place may be hard to find right now.

Wow, he really is cute!

Yes. I love the red fur around his ears and neck

Oh my gosh...!!! @steven-patrick
Amazing...!!!!!!
Soon Mr. fox will going on long walks with you .... and be curled up at the foot of your bed at night..
(:

Exactly! I hope so.

We set up a camera trap today with an iPad. But no luck seeing him coming or going.

Oh my! Great photos! He is beautiful! I bet you won't ever have a rodent problem with him around. It is pretty amazing that he is on your roof!

When my daughter was little we lived up north in the woods and there was a gray fox that made our backyard part of his route every evening. My daughter was about 10 years old and she put out a small bowl of dry dog food for him and then she would sit in front of the patio door each night waiting for him to come, and she always talked to him and told him how beautiful he was and he made his Loop through the yard and then went on his way. She did this every night all summer. Well he must have gotten very comfortable with her voice, because one day she and I were out in the garage and she was talking and around the corner of the garage he came- right up to her! Needless to say I was a little startled and scared him off. He still continued to come visit her every night, but I insisted that she had to keep the screen door between them!

What a great story! yes he is lovely. What a memory for your daughter.

Her animal sagas have continued.... I'll tell you the story someday about the ruffled grouse that adopted her and used to ride around on her head when she would be out in the yard!
I hope you find a good solution for your lodger!

haha! howdy there steven-patrick! wow what does he do up there? I mean why would he want on the roof? Tremendously cute though and great shots of him!

Thanks. He is sleeping under the eave of my roof :( there is a little space he can crawl into. I need to close that opening up eventually

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63099.80
ETH 2455.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58