Ducklings on my pond

in #wildlife7 years ago

My wife and I moved to rural England 4 years ago for a more peaceful and less stressful life. Our property has a pond which is regularly visited by wild ducks. Each spring a pair settle down and nest somewhere close and attempt to start a family. Rarely though do their eggs hatch as there are various predators in the surrounding farmland looking for their next meal. This year however the ducks clearly nested in a secure location and managed to hatch 12 ducklings.

3 weeks ago I managed to capture them on video using my phone and I hope you enjoy the brief clip below. Sadly now only 3 remain, the rest having probably been eaten by predators. I have the local owls high up the list of suspects as we regularly see them hunting, both day and night. They're hard to catch on video, but I do have a clip at dusk.

Sort:  

Seems like a really chill place, that little ducks sprint was so cute :D

thanks, glad you enjoyed it. Yes the little ones sprint like they're in a 100m final :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59200.90
ETH 2601.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41