I was lucky to photograph the 1st Robber Fly I've ever seen in my life!

in #wildlife6 years ago

2d642247-b3ca-4d95-ae01-3aa0467412ce.jpeg


You may probable think this is just another common insect: well, you're wrong.
This is one of the greatest insect predators, even above dragonflies; in fact they hunt and feed on dragonflies, wasps, honeybees, spiders, flies, beetles, and even other robber flies (yes, they're cannibals).
They hunt preys in flight as well as static; they bite the prey and inoculate their paralytic and liquifying saliva for sucking then the meal.

Shot taken with a Samsung Galaxy S9.


Steepshot_footer2.PNG Steepshot IPFS IOS Android Web
Sort:  

@dresden you were flagged by a worthless gang of trolls, so, I gave you an upvote to counteract it! Enjoy!!

Curioso bicho!!! Ademas de asesino xD

Es un puto killer del mundo insectívoro aunque de vez en cuando también lo cazan a él: pájaros, algunas arañas, algunas mantis religiosas y otras robber fly.

it’s always so cool to see such insect close up 😊😊 great photo, have a wonderful day! GREETINGS

I shot it from a bit far because I didn't want to scare the bug, and even could be better if I had been closer, not such a bad shot at all for a smartphone.
Greetings.

professional click if dragonfly fly you never took this short i love your this click amazing

It's a robberfly, not a dragonfly; there's a big difference between both species.

Really a luck, I've never seen one. Excellent shot @dresden.

Son muy difíciles de ver, la verdad; hay fotógrafos profesionales que se han tirado más de veinte años para poder fotografiar a una.

Great focus. This is an awesome capture.

I feel I could do it better If I had been closer but I was affraid of scaring the robberfly and not getting the shot.
Thanks anyways.

Vaya tela con la mosca, no me gustaría ser otro bicho

Sí, sí; es toda una máquina de hacer zumo de otros insectos, je, je.

No me gusta porque se come a las “dragonflies” 😔

Ja, ja, ja.
Ciertamente pero que sepas que las dragonflies son también unas grandes depredadoras; de hecho, la larva de libélula, en su fase acuática, es una de las larvas más voraces y agresivas del reino animal; se come hasta a peces.

Oh my god! ¡Tenemos un lado oscuro!

¡Seeep! 😌

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 63133.02
ETH 3043.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63