Wildflower series ~ More Vernonias

in #wildflowers6 years ago

vernonia galpinii.jpg

There are quite a few different kinds of little purple-flowered bushes on the hill and they all belong to the genus Vernonia. They are part of the daisy family; each flower stalk is not a single flower but a collection of little florets and they make dandelion-like seed-heads. They have lots of pollen and mostly attract bees to act as pollinators. I think this is Vernonia galpinii and this particular species remind me of sea anemones because the flowers have that flattened centre that you just want to stick your finger into.

vernonia galpinii2.jpg

If you look at the little bush above, the flower heads start out whitish, then the purple florets ripen from the outside in, until the entire flower has turned into a little purple paintbrush. I really like the look of the middle phase of the flower's life.

Sort:  

Beautiful flowers!
I really liked the bright saturated purple color of these flowers!

Not much colour manipulation, they really are that colour!

So many pretty flowers you way. :-)

I was surprised by what I found when I made an effort to look

They do look like sea anemones, they are so beautiful.

How rude, I didn’t comment on how I loved the wild and pretty purple daisies. I’d be tempted to pick them and take them home. I don’t normally pick flowers...

Just as well, they'd probably look bad within a few hours

We also have similar flowers. Not quite surely such, but there are similarities.

рас2.jpg

We have those, too. They are a weed here

Congratulations @nikv! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63525.26
ETH 2583.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80