Wildflower series ~ Feather Duster

in #wildflowers5 years ago

Pluimbossie.jpg

Some almost conventionally "pretty" flowers that belong to the Ranunculus family, these bushes are all over the hill although this one is an early flowerer. That's probably because it didn't get burned and doesn't have to grow back from the ground up. Clematopsis scabiosifolia is called Feather Duster, because of the feathery seeds that it makes to both flowers and seeds are striking to look at.

pluimbossie2.jpg

These are plants that can be grown in a garden although they survive on very little water, in fact, they should be treated as succulents: well-drained soil and no other water besides the rain will suffice in summer. In winter the should be kept dry

Sort:  

Very beautiful flowers and photos!
I also liked the fact that a bee got into the lens.
I have never seen these flowers before!

The bees love these!

They are a delight to the eye :-)

For sure!

Pretty! I have grown Ranunculus asiaticus. It's the one they call Persian Buttercups and I see the resemblance to the ones here. In my climate, they are treated like a summer flowering bulb and dug up every autumn before the first frost. I remember thinking how the tiny tuberous roots reminded me of twisted chickens feet! So interesting to see their wild kin.

All our wild plants survive fire, drought and frost because they have an underground rootstock and these are no exception

It is surprising that such beautiful flowers do not require watering with water, and they need only precipitation.

They are adapted to our harsh climate

The look like giant bazzar poppies, so unusual

My favorite wildflowers of yours so far. I don’t think they are conventional pretty, I think they’re quite unique. Lovely photo.

Any plant that survives with little water works for me. ;)

little water is not the same as no water ;)

These are very beautiful wild flowers! It would be lovely to have a whole field of these flowers, but the cows in my neighbourhood will probably eat them all!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Probably

They're so beautiful, makes me want to have a garden. Also love the vintage touch you gave to the photos.

Thank you! One day you will have a garden :) No vintage touch, the light is weird because the sun is so harsh that you can only shoot either very late in the day or when it is overcast

Absolutely loving this shot. My favourite to date.

Aw, thank you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66408.70
ETH 3225.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17