First Lilacs Of Spring 2018 - See How I Arranged Them As A Wildflower Bouquet !

in #wildflowerarrangement6 years ago (edited)

20180422_175955.jpg

Syringa vulgaris

This plant is commonly known as Lilacs. It belongs to the olive family oleaceae and is actually a tree and is multi-stemmed with purple to almost bluish flowerettes in color. It has a stark aroma that would leave the room full of scent.

The origin is supposed to be in the balkan regions where it grows along rocky areas. Here in Europe, they are loved by gardeners because of its lovely flower clusters and smell. I even have one in my backyard that was at one time attacked by some kind of a mildew, sort of black and whitish in color which was caused by a fungus or the like, we had to cut its main stem. Now it is coming out again and begun to show some new leaves earlier last week.

20180422_181202.jpg

This is the time of the year that lilacs bloom in early Spring. The clusters are so pretty to make as an arrangement and are favorite of decorators because they look delicate and elegant and beautiful when put in a vase. There are several hybrids and varieties that are available in the garden center.

20180422_083911.jpg

Yesterday, I made a walk in the woods near our home just to exert more effort to make a bit of exercise. And I passed-by so many wild lilacs that I gathered some for my vase at home. As I am prone to its smell, I get a day-colds easily as I am allergic to pollens and smell. I always place my arranged bouquet on the garden table to adorn the area. That way, I can avoid its fragrance and still enjoy its beauty.

20180422_083630.jpg

20180422_084139.jpg

I have learned that the wood of the lilacs is so hard that it can be used to engrave an art , used it for knife handles and as well as to make musical instruments and other purposes.

20180422_084127.jpg

20180422_180214.jpg

Here, in my arrangement I paired the lilacs with the white wild hydrangea I also found in the woods. There are many of them growing just about everywhere and even throughout Summer. I think they match just alright and the white flowerettes also give contrast to the purple flowers.

20180422_175808.jpg

20180422_180348.jpg

Some gardeners say that never prune lilacs shrubs because they will not flower, whereas the unpruned one will bloom yearly.. It takes the lilac shrub to recover from the cut branches and therefore it will take many years before those new branches mature and bear buds.

20180422_175732.jpg

20180422_180512.jpg

20180422_180858.jpg

20180422_181218.jpg

That is all about today´s lilacs content and I hope you like my arrangement.

All images are properties of the author. If you would like to use any of the photos from this content, please give source credits by linking the URL of this post in your content.

Source References:
https://en.wikibooks.org/wiki/Horticulture/Syringa
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Syringa

Footer.gif

Sort:  

So colorful.. amazing flowers

Thank you.

You are welcome

Very lovely and stunning, you're really awesome! Keep it up!

Muchas gracias amigo!

Your lilacs are heavenly and I see what you mean by lots of pictures. They are all so beautiful. Your spring must be much earlier than ours here in Canada. We are just getting rid of the snow and the buds aren't quite out on the trees. (Soon) I love when the lilacs appear as they are one of the first to bloom. I could almost smell them looking at your pictures.

Nice of you to drop-by, thank you. Our winter in Austria and in almost all parts of Europe had been too long. But we are now enjoying Spring. I have a cousin who lives in Vancouver and she was also complaining about the snow. And some of my cousins who live in Texas and Florida were also complaining too that tulips don´t grow there because it´s too hot. hahaha, different regions and its climate... If you´re wondering how to post your steemit profile pic, just tell ...it´s quite easy.

You got a 2.58% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @mers!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

Great post!

Thank you.

Mam pano ba magkaroon ng footer ng steemitPowerupph?

May box na purple labeled "footer" duon sa page natin... please write your username there.

Nilagay ko n po.mga one week ago na.

Ah ok .. remind ko si Mot ..kasi busy din yun sa work nya..

Very nice flower as well as your arrangement. It looks so fresh & cool.

Indeed, I love lilacs and they are for free in our area...so I get to have free flower bouquets. Thank you and cheers!

wow, those are some real beauty.
great photography, really.

it's a pleasure mam.

Nice shot maam @mers

Love it! That is really a beautiful flower and a beautiful arrangement! I would love to smell them and so cool that you found them in the wild. :)

Hi, thanks for visiting my blog... indeed they are so full of scent! Unfortunately, I can´t smell them so often because I´m allergic to the fragrance as I get a runny nose for a day or two. That is why I put them on my garden table and enjoy its beauty there instead. :-((

Not fun to be allergic to them but so nice that you can still see them outside and enjoy them that way! :)

What a lovely flower, you tamed the wildflower pretty well, I love the colors :-)

Thank you, I love the colors too!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54276.23
ETH 2281.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35