You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Hugs for Everyone! (A rant on growing up wild)

in #wild6 years ago

You know were about the same age?

My childhood was spent in the woods in Alaska, Texas, North Carolina and Rice paddies in the Philippines with real jungles right behind that. Was chased by wild monkeys and still have the scars to prove that. Running from maids in Japan and hiding in the bushes in North Carolina. Thank God you and I didn't have to be hidden from the Pedos when we were kids.
I thought I would only live to be 25 and am not sure I even started to live until I was 48.

We are brothers from a different mother! I am glad you found me!

Sort:  

Say what you want about the Air Force, but it does get you out and about.

My problem was always that by the time I realized I should have run away, I had already chased what I should have been running from down, and suddenly was no longer in a good position to avoid the fray.

Fortunately, insanity is taken as dangerous by wild creatures as well as people, and all the bears, wolves, and cougar I've chased outran me by comfortable margins.

I will spare you the story about getting tired of eating little bitty, tasty, squirrels while living off that land in Alaska, and deciding to try a relatively huge porcupine. It's probably more fun if you imagine me skinning it, rather than me describing it, anyway =p

Edit: I just realized that this:

"My problem was always that by the time I realized I should have run away, I had already chased what I should have been running from down, and suddenly was no longer in a good position to avoid the fray."

explains my love life.

Sometimes, there were hugs at the end of the chase. Turns out, I'd rather have been gently mauled by an enraged grizzly...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64294.06
ETH 3427.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59