You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: For Our Rulers, Smearing A Dissident Journalist Is As Good As Killing Him

in #wikileaks6 years ago

It's too bad that a fellow journalist like Naomi Klein decided to do that interview on Democracy Now in which she also joined the 'D' pen in claiming that Assange was helping to elect the 'R' pen. How on earth could a supposedly decent journalist betray and blame another journalist for publishing the truth? I would post a link to the interview but oddly enough now I can't find it on Democracy Now's website... One has to wonder what Naomi thinks about how Julian got the information--seemed to me she was implying that he purposely supported the 'R' pen. The same 'R' pen that is still gunning for him now oddly enough; yet I have not seen one article or interview in which she takes back that claim or apologizes or supports Assange. As a Canadian I am deeply ashamed of her for this. Assange is being treated criminally and still this prominent journalist refuses to support him. Sadly however I believe that there is a reason why many Canadians barely even know who Julian is or anything about his situation--we are, far too many of us, immersed in the totally bought and paid for media of the corporate oligarchs, mostly oil and mining companies, our own national broadcaster turned tail long ago, our governments support the agendas of big pharma and big oil as much as Obama did, and most of us don't bother to question the narrative because we don't read independent media.

Naomi Klein and her partner Avi Lewis are trying to get lift for a political movement, the Leap Manifesto, in this country, but it won't go anywhere because she doesn't address the elephant in the room: the power of corporate media to pacify the people of this country into not even wanting to look into horrible facts such as the treatment of Julian Assange and the global reach of the grip of corporate power. Here in Canada, I am more likely to be mocked for pointing out the reach of corporate power or trolled by one of many astroturf employees than I am to find anyone who has read and understood the depth of the problems. So I thank you Caitlyn for your articles, but I am still at a loss as to how to help Julian. From what I read, it seems like the cowardly UK and Ecuador officials are planning on forcing him out of his refuge into the hands of the US.

Julian, do whatever you need to do to get free.

Sort:  

I remember seeing that segment of Democracy Now as well. It must be on their site somewhere, If I get some time, I'll try to find it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 59705.02
ETH 2619.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39