My dog found unusual backbone on unusual spot

in #whysoserious8 years ago

Well, it's not human backbone! At least I hope so!

But I still wonder how it ended up here, in the middle of nowhere. People are passing trough this underbush very rarely. I walk with my dog here and I haven't seen another human on this spot. Now I am thinking about all possible scenarios how this backbone ended here.

full size

I didn't have any lighter with me to take a photo to compare the sizes.

But my assessment is that this piece of backbone is about 25 centimeters long. I will show you few clickable photos of the environment:

full size |full size

The nearest house is about 1 kilometer far from here and I don't think that someone lives there.

My dog brought a bone from the bushes and put it in front of my feet. Still thinking about all possible scenarios. Well, I have to consider some wild beast around here.

This is mainly territory of foxes.

But fox is too small to have this large backbone. The nearest pack of wolves is about 40 kilometers far from here and if they came here, they would be noticed. Few times the boar has strayed here, but that happens very rarely.

full size

My personal opinion is that this is a backbone of a domestic pig! But still I don't know how it ended up here! It's not that people come to eat here or throw the bones! There is no road to here, or even a pathway, you must fight your way trough bushes and rocks.

Any ideas?

#whysoserious

Sort:  

This post has been ranked within the top 25 most undervalued posts in the second half of Dec 19. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $9.13 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Dec 19 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

It's likely off of pig, goat, or sheep. dragged there by another dog or animal. foxes scavenge

I believe that one or two hunters tracked the boar to here and shot it. They couldn't carry it, so they cut it to slices, some bones remained there and foxes did the rest

do you think it could be a domestic dog spine?

Great idea! Because my dog didn't want to chew it! Many backyard dogs are leaving their homes when they sense that their end is near. Very much possible, thank you!

That's interesting that your dog didnt want to chew it. Mabe he wants you to burry it! lol

just sayin it doesnt look like any ribs I've eaten :-O

you have coyotes there?

No, and wolves are not so near, I am happy with idea of domestic dog, thank you!

but big dog! this spine is wide as my fist

No prob. I like checking out that kinda thing. I think coyotes are only North American now that I consider it. I think I'll search for signs of them around here today.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 64454.42
ETH 3179.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57