How to replace the heater in your boiler on #beautifulsunday

in #whysoserious7 years ago (edited)

It was a beautiful Sunday morning and when I woke up I went straight for shower.

But there was't any hot water. I checked the boiler in my bathroom. The lamp was ON. I live in a place where we don't get any hot water from supplier, we must have these boilers for that. Luckily, I know all about these boilers and that if something goes wrong, there are three possible things that could happen:

  1. The thermostat was broken
  2. The heater was broken
  3. The thermostat and the heater were broken

So I had to remove this plastic and take the thermostat out. If I want to take the heater out, I have to remove all the water from the boiler and take it off.

The biggest problem in these kind of boilers is scale deposit.

If you are about to work something around the boiler, you must turn it off and be careful about electricity. Remember exactly how all wires are connected.

I had to remove all water from the boiler while it was still attached on the wall. couldn't carry it otherwise. I did it this way:

First I closed the main vent pipe in the bathroom. Then I opened hot water on all the pipes. Butthere were still some water in it, so I had to take this hose of the shower and connect it with the boiler and spill the water in the tub.

So I removed all water from the boiler and took it off the wall. But it was still heavy. It was full of scale deposit so I had to take it in my backyard to clean it. This is a catholic country and my neighbors were looking at me as I was a devil who works on the Sunday. The I took off the thermostat (left of the photo) and heater (right on the photo and looks awful).

I found out that both, thermosts and heater are broken.

I washed the whole boiler from the inside to remove big amount of scale deposit. But I couldn't remove all because that would damage the vessel.

It is Sunday and all shops are closed so I can't buy the heater and thermostat.

But I need hot water urgently. I started to smell badly! Luckily, some of out tourist apartments are renewing and the boilers from theirs bathrooms are taken off, so I borrowed the heater and the thermostat from one of them.

When I put all together, I attached boiler to the wall again and this is very important:

Never turn your boiler ON if there is not any water in there!!!

After half of hour, I had some hot water and finally took the shower!


Thank you!

logo

Sort:  

interesting posts. I am very detail reading it. and I can benefit from the way you do it. i like you friend. i always follow you. thanks. by, @boyasyie

so you have become a serious technician now. 😂😂😂.

I know how to fix a thing or two

i have tried to fix a few, i could open but end up never able to fix and put it back in place. hahah

When I "open" things I take photos to be sure how to put it all back

nah, that is a very good advice . 😃

👍👍👍👍👍

Thank you !!!

You should try using some water softeners or some other method to reduce the hardness of water. Hard water usually causes scaling.

Then I should place it on main supplying hose

i did it last year, and since then i cant stop thinking about the amount of scale deposit i had to take out... ive used thick leather glove, and failed to take out ALL of it. i never again used boiler water to make anything related to food.. actually, i have urge to shower after i take shower now..
at least now i know what im dealing with for the next time^

You can't remove all scale without damaging the vessel. I clean these boilers at least each two months so I guess it's fine

Nice work - Sunday or no Sunday :)
And I agree that people in this part of the world would rather fix things by themselves. We don't yet have that mentality that you need an expert for everything. I'm proud to say that I managed to take the air out of a radiator that wasn't heating up. I knew it wasn't complicated and I didn't want to pay a repairmen for something I could myself.

Well, your Romania is on Balkans and that makes you a professional for house maintenance. I blew out my radiators yesterday;)

You are multitalented, so it is good to learn whatever you can, who knows whenever it may prove useful for us.

I live in a place where people can do many things by ourselves. The most of people here fix their own cars or anything that breaks. And we definitely upvote posts if we comment on them

That's awesome, upvoted.

OMG, on a sunday morning... I would have gone back to bed and wait for monday 😂

After all that work and frustration you needed 2 SHOWERS

Four at least:)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61153.73
ETH 3403.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51