Beware of wasps

in #whysoserious8 years ago

Wasps first appeared in the Jurassic period and they were a lot bigger than now.

Does it mean that some dinosaurs suffered from their sting? It would be funny to imagine how the T-Rex got an allergic reaction because of the sting? We'll probably never know these things but I managed to take some shots of a wasp last week, when I was searching for flowers for photo challenge. I made few GIF-s. I am very sorry because these GIF-s don't provide a sound records, the sound like bzzzbzzz would make these animation much more interesting.

It looks kinda beautiful on these rosemary flowers.

I don't know is this true, but I heard that a bee has only one chance to use it's sting. Wasp can do it several times. I was stang by a wasp hundreds of times in my life and that was just a temporary pain. But I know some people that have really bad reaction on wasp sting. I am not afraid of getting too close to this wasp, the only important thing is to keep mouth and eyes safe.

There are hundreds and hundreds families of wasps.

And they are settled in the most of the world. Some are very social, some prefer to live alone and meet in the time of mating. Some are parasites, some are predators, some are prey, but they all have stings.

But I have other experiences, so I would make different systematic. I am familiar with a BEER WASP, that's the one around my beer glass, wants to drink it. On the same way, I am very close with a VINE WASP and an ORANGE JUICE WASP.

And all people have different reactions on the sting of a wasp. Spring is coming, so, if you spend a lot of time outside, make sure that your glass of beer, vine or orange juice is closed and safe!

Sort:  

I would hate to swallow a wasp or bee in my drink. I can see how easily that could occur.

I don't know is this true, but I heard that a bee has only one chance to use it's sting.

True.


I'm afraid that's a bee in your GIF.
Most wasps don't collect honey / pollen from flowers.
Most wasps are predators.

I heard the same thing too. So, good to know Thanks

A bee loses it's stinger, when it stings. It dies from that.
If you got stung by a bee, it's important to remove the stinger from your skin.

A wasp can sting you multiple times and will not lose it's stinger in the process.

This is a wasp, at least here it is. A bee is bigger and rounded, I see them every day. This is the same wasp I can see in my glass of beer. This wasp doesn't collect pollen from rosemary, in this time of year, rosemary doesn't have pollen at all. But strange crew of tiny flies were around this bush and that attracted this wasp.

Let it sting you for proof; If it doesn't lose its stinger, then it was a wasp :P

( I'm pretty sure it's a bee. )

Hahahaha, I was driving one of these in my car 70 kilometers, not nice ride. Honestly, from my own experience, wasps are feeding with nectar and sugar, we made our wasps very lazy.

Replying here because of comment depth.

Wasps feed on honey, too.
They raid beehives and steel the honey.
The don't go around from flower to flower to collect it tho.
They don't even have a trunk to get to the nectar. They have pincers instead.

I didn't get used to see a small bee like this one

Are you thinking of a bumblebee maybe ?

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bumblebee

No, bumblebee is fat motherfucker, bee is kinda more hairy of this

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63239.86
ETH 2621.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77