At the dentist's

in #whysoserious7 years ago

I can sleep with rats, eat spiders, get in the fight outside, I have no fear or shame to do anything but one thing creeps me out: DENTISTS!

It's not about pain, it's about the SOUND! I can handle the pain, I am used to pain, but I just can't deal with this sound. And that's why I go to the dentist's so rarely. And that's why I have more years than teeth.

Did you know that tooth decay is one of the most spread deceases in the world?

I wash my teeth regularly but I am afraid to put that little mirror inside to see what's happening. When I don't feel any pain, I don't want to see the problem about teeth. I have good teeth but I've smoked to many cigarettes and opened too many beer bottles with my teeth. From now on, that way of opening bottles is forbidden to me.

When my tooth is in pain, my whole head is in big big pain. I have really deep roots of my teeth and there is always a problem when they want to take it out. So I have to be careful with my teeth and fix them on the right time.

So, here I am, in this waiting room...

full size

Luckily, something got complicated with the guy who came in before me. So, I had to wait for half of hour.

When the dentist called me in, first things I noticed were these drills. I remembered THE SOUND again!

full size

When I sat on the chair, I realized that there is no way back.

My dentist first played with the chair and me on it, drove it up and down, just like she's trying to adjust my position. I think that she is only playing. And sang the song of Beyonce while she was preparing the tools for the massacre.

full size

After she gave me some anesthesia in the injection. I stopped to care about the sound.

It was all the drama in my head. Every time. She even allowed me to take a selfie with this sucking pipe in my mouth.

full size

Sort:  

My GF just started working in a private clinic, if you need a second opinion. Everyone says she is awesome! Thank you for nice wishes!

Ouch. It's the drill sound that scare me too.

I too am very jittery when they need to bring out the drill. They used to give me nitrous....I even had my own personal rubber/plastic nose thingie that I would bring in. I would also bring a walkman (lol! yes, i'm old). It helped immensely. My favorite CD for the dentist chair in those days was Paul Simon's Graceland. It took me far far away and I didn't have to care about the drilling sound.
Once I forgot the CD so I put on the radio...Howard Stern...that didn't work because I would start to laugh.
Anyway, problem was nitrous kinda makes you feel queezy afterwards and I got tired of that feeling. Now I just grip the handles of the chair with all my might.
Hope you recover ;-)

Nice way to deal wit it with music! Thank you for this funny comment!

I still remember one time as a kid walking away and passing by a construction site, damn my tooth hurt again just by thinking of that. Naah just joking getting your nerves pulled out is more memorable, :D I can't imagine getting my wisdom teeth out :| and that is supposed to happen :|

Pain is not the problem, only the creepy sound

yeah what I was saying, well the sensations more like and the whole idea we make for ourselves :D just a second :D

cut too short but you get the idea it's a 15 minute episode

LOL, thank you, I watched this episode for hundred times. You made my day better! Thanks

:) Cheers mate, mr Bean is golden I even found some gems I had missed from Rowan Atkinson some time ago, British humor at it's finest he's the modern Charlie Chaplin :) I'm no sure what is modern tho,

A singing dentist. Sounds like a fun dentist. I had a dentist that had pictures of flowers on the ceiling to keep you happy. Even heard of them having a tv on the ceiling to watch. That would depend on what was on the tele. Thanks for sharing your "fun" day.

you're welcome, it surely was fun

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 56208.10
ETH 2476.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.26