My cartoon image, Jerry Garcia, Albert Einstein, Santa Claus... About my cartoon, and photos of my family and I

in #whoami7 years ago (edited)


The cartoon image that I use all over the place in my posts was made from a photo by my son @theanubisrider. I tell people that when I don't shave or get a hair cut for awhile I look like Santa Claus and Albert Einstein had a baby.

If I let my hair go wild and I do shave then one of my friends teases me that my hair looks like Michio Kaku style hair...

I generally shrug. My wife prefers me clean shaven, but I also don't enjoy shaving much. I also am amused by my own appearance.

One day my son @theanubisrider asked for photos to convert to cartoon versions for those of us in our game development company for the website. So we took some quick photos. This image I use all over steemit was actually made from an image we took quickly for that purpose.

Something interesting has come from this. I've had several people on steemit ask me if that is Jerry Garcia of the Grateful Dead. If I was younger that might have inspired me to shave my head.

I never was a Grateful Dead fan. In fact there was SO much Grateful Dead this, and Grateful Dead that when I was in college that I got really tired of it. It was almost as bad as the Russia narrative in mainstream media these days.

So me getting confused with Jerry Garcia would have been wince worthy back then. However, I am older and I shrug a lot.

I can see it. I will admit there is indeed some resemblance.

Here are a few photos of me for those of you that are curious for some reason...

Several years ago

Late 1980s - My cousin Shauna, and me

Stanley Hotel awhile ago - left to right @eli-chanpu, me, my wife, @gmarsh - and yes that really is a Fanny Pack!

At a friend's wedding in 1998 or so

Myself and my son @gmarsh around 1997 or so

@gmarsh, Myself, and @eli-chanpu

Myself and @eli-chanpu, and @gmarsh

Me

Me - 1989

Me - 1989

My wife and I - 1998

Sometime 5 or 6 years ago

My Friend Ben, @gmarsh, @kellywin21, My Wife, Me, @eli-chanpu - Yes, I'm wearing a "Cannibal the Musical" shirt.

@Gmarsh, My Wife(back), @kellywin21 (front), @eli-chanpu, Me (2012)

@gmarsh, Me, @eli-chanpu - Viva the Fanny Pack!

Sort:  

Nice photos my friend!

Welcome to steemit hope you enjoy it here!! Followed. Follow me back 😘

you are not Jerry Garcia.... which is a bit disappointing for me

Those are rad old school pics, looks like some beautiful memories.

Do you know who your avatar reminded me of... Karl Marx

I would guess that's another Jerry Garcia for you :D

Cartoon is a little too cheerful for Marx he is always so Stoic looking in photos of him I see. :)

I always thought he looked quite jolly, but that might be the santa like appearance :)

I haven't seen that photo before.

Hii Dwinblood nice to read about you.i am surendra from india,am also a new on steemit and welcome you to steemit.i have followed you.so, can you also follow me.Best of luck.

I've been using steemit for over a year. Welcome to steemit to you though.

Nice photos, especially with your kids, in those photos you look happier. :)

Ahhh.. Metallica and fanny packs. Takes me back to my high school days. What software program did your son use to animate your image? Would be neat to see. Thanks.

He didn't animate it just did some work on a static image with photoshop.

Welcome to Steemit, I am sure that you will enjoy every minute of it here :-)

I've been here over a year and posted close to 9000 comments and posts. Yet, I hadn't shared the photos and more personal things so I thought introduceyourself/myself made sense.

I want to be a hippie, a hippie, a hippie, and I wanna get stoned! Lol just joking :) great photo's!

My parents were hippies. I was a metal head. :) Thus, why I would have cringed at the Jerry Garcia reference in my youth. Also I did my brief experiment with drugs and alcohol when I was 16. Decided it wasn't for me. So I actually haven't touched anything but caffeine for about 30 years.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63050.55
ETH 2622.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71