White is White ~ Anything Goes Sunday

white-woman.jpg
Canon PowerShot 60SX

Sitting near a ghat (gate) in Varanasi, India during a bathing ritual in the Ganga River. She was soaking up the warmth of the sun while watching the festivities. Her flowing white cloth with the red stripe that matched the wall behind her caught my attention.

I wonder what she was thinking . . .

trulafountaine-2.png

Sort:  

Congratulations @trulafountaine! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published 4 posts in one day

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Notifications have been disabled. Sorry if I bothered you.
To reactivate notifications, drop me a comment with the word NOTIFY

What a wonderful portrait! she looks a bit sad. you caught a lot of emotion there.

Thank you. Yes, I think so, too. She looked so beautiful in her whiteness. In her culture white indicates death and mourning, as well as unhappiness and misfortune. So we are probably seeing that in her emotion. Varanasi is the place of death, sacred Hindu burning pyers. Maybe she had recently lost a loved one.

Funny, I was just reading about white being associated with death in some cultures.

While I'm in India I like to wear light white cotton because it feels cooler to my Canadian thermostat. Little did I know that I was in mourning. Most of my ignorance is tolerated. :)

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png

I just resteemed your post but if you don’t like to be resteemed just leave me a reply and I will unfollow and stop resteeming your posts immediately. I’m not a spammer… just read what this is all about here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62890.35
ETH 2544.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.94