Highland Park Harald with Padron 1926 box pressed 40 year anniversary

in #whisky5 years ago

Before I go on, please note that I did not add this whisky to my infinity bottle. Mainly because I just opened the bottle but also for the reasons below.

HIGHLAND PARK HARALD single malt scotch whisky

I was very excited to try this whisky because I have been a fan of Highland Park for sometime. In my opinion, their standard 12YO single malt is the best of the price range amongst the usual suspects of similarly priced competitors (e.g. Glenlivet, Macallan, Glenmorangie, Glenfiddich etc...), but I digress.

The Harald had an immediate orange nose, not like mandarins or naval oranges but calamondin oranges or miniature oranges, followed by peat then oak and honey flavours. I imagined the taste would be amazing with only light hints of peat but to taste it was, for me, disappointing. The peat overwhelms the tongue which is great if you like a peated whisky, and I do sometimes, but I didn't enjoy the shock or the length that this peat held. The second sip felt like the peat from the first sip still lingered. The second glass was no different. In fact I changed to another whisky that I knew had little or no peat but still the peat from the Harald persisted.

Cigar pairing - not recommended

This did not work well for me and I am sharing this experience so that you and others can learn from it what you will.

I had the Padron 1926 box pressed 40 year anniversary cigar. I had hoped the smooth draw and nutty flavours from the Padron would save my palate from the persistent peaty taste from the Harald. It didn't. I don't recommend this pairing. If you have smoked this Padron before you would know how great it is as a standalone cigar. If you would like some suggestions as to what whiskys pair with this cigar, let me know. The Harald didn't work.

Finally, for those interested in the infinity bottle, I did not and would not add this. The peat would kill all other flavours.

line_1556888274548.jpgline_1556888294118.jpgline_1556888916595.jpg

Sort:  

I have to taste this whisky.. I like highland park

Posted using Partiko Android

I went to a Highland park tasting last week and tried the new Valknut along with their 12yo and their 18yo. The 18yo was far and away the best followed by the 12yo then the Valknut. I think these guys are trying to hard to expand their range and the quality is falling.

Hello yippeekaiyay, welcome to Partiko, an amazing community for crypto lovers! Here, you will find cool people to connect with, and interesting articles to read!

You can also earn Partiko Points by engaging with people and bringing new people in. And you can convert them into crypto! How cool is that!

Hopefully you will have a lot of fun using Partiko! And never hesitate to reach out to me when you have questions!

Cheers,
crypto.talk
Creator of Partiko

Congratulations @yippeekaiyay! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made your First Comment
You made your First Vote

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59736.86
ETH 2416.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43