Scotch, Song, & Soul - Kilchoman Machir BaysteemCreated with Sketch.

in #whisky8 years ago

When my grandparents were young they loved to swing dance and they were  really good at it. Someone once came up to my grandmother to say,  "Excuse me, but I wanted to tell you that you dance divinely." I learned  some steps from my grandfather and would jump at the chance to dance to  the music of that time whenever I could. I loved it. One of my all time  favorites is the well known classic, In the Mood. 

I never really learned more than the few basic steps. I could follow  well enough, and so with spins and turns that's all I really needed to  know to have a great time dancing with my family. However, as everyone  got older, and especially as my grandfather's health declined, the  dancing grew sparse.

I've always wanted and intended to take lessons and learn how to swing  dance really well. I've also wanted to find people I could dance with to  this music! (Instead of always being the one to teach the very little I  knew to whoever was willing to dance.) There were always obstacles:  schedules, time, money, someone to dance with...

But after life's great quantity of ado...I finally went to a swing class  last night. It was wonderful. Very laid back, a brand new dance space,  really nice people, and great music.

Having mainly been doing salsa lately, it was a little rough getting back into the "swing" but I loved every minute of it.

It was a very long day, but dancing gave me a second wind and upon  returning home, I cracked open the second to last single dram bottle for  a tasting. Kilchoman Machir Bay - 2014 bottling.


He was much paler than the previous whiskies I've had. Definitely more  yellow than gold, but a beautiful color. I learned that although there  is no age statement, this Scotch is only about 5 years old. I'm sure  that's part of the reason for the light color, but I've also recently  learned about the process of caramel coloring, and that many  distilleries use it in their Scotch. I don't have strong opinions on it  currently, but Talisker is one that has the caramel added, and his color  is darkened by it, I'm sure. 

In the bottle his nose was strongly smoky, but with a perfumey floral  scent as well. In the glass, I sensed banana, smoke, and pepper. The  first sip was complex, but light - spicy, and also a bit tart. Adding  water didn't change him too much in nose or flavor, and that was ok; I  liked him.

I relaxed into the enjoyment of the evening, eating my late dinner and  sipping my new Scotch. My dinner was a gruyere cheese-filled veggie  "chicken" cutlet. Savoring the creamy, salty, crunchy tastes and  textures, I recalled a memory...

Years ago I gave some friends an analogy of life's good experiences  either being like a sunset or a chix patty. Chix patties, for the  uninformed, are vegetarian friendly creations that imitate a fried  chicken patty and are wonderfully delicious. They are perhaps a little  addictive, as when you finish one, it's a very sad thing and you find  yourself wanting more. Contrast this to a sunset: no matter how amazing  and beautiful a sunset is, we generally don't wish for more of it when  it is over. We let it pass gracefully. Certain moments in life are like  sunsets, and certain moments are like chix patties. When the latter ones  end, we're not quite ready to let them go.

I realize that in these types of moments, as with the chix patties themselves, part of our enjoyment is  in the wanting of more.  Like being in love, which gives us the hope of  a future together, it's that longing for it to last which affects the  pleasure in the moment. So perhaps the difference is simply a matter of  faith. Of all things in this world, one thing we can be certain of is  that the sun will rise and set tomorrow. As long as we are alive to see  it, there is no choice we can make or path we will take that will stop  us from having another chance to see that beautiful sight. However...

If sunsets weren't guaranteed, would you cry when they were over?

Most things in life are not guaranteed, and even with sunsets - we can  never know for sure if this one won't be our last. Part of the trick is  probably acceptance of this fact. Understanding that change is the  nature of things, and therefore endings inevitable, helps us not take  things for granted. We want to be present and engaged in all the good  moments of our life so we can get the deepest and fullest enjoyment of  them. But if we can temper this with a bit of faith - knowing that even  if we may never have a "chix patty" again, there will probably still be  things just as delicious and enjoyable somewhere in the future - perhaps  we can find a way to let go with more ease. 

I finished my dinner, and still had a bit of Kilchoman left in my glass.  His spice was the most prominent flavor, being very mild in all other  ways. Although this one is an Islay, he reminded me a little of  Macallan. Kilchoman was a little smokier, not as smooth, and definitely  spicier, but they both had that slightly reserved, gentlemanly feel to  them.

I am glad to finally be taking swing dancing classes. During the class,  one of the folks who organizes it talked about how a lot of the  volunteers who run the club are leaving soon, and so it may be harder to  hold as many events. He put out the request for others to step up if at  all possible. Another reminder of the ever-shifting nature of life and  circumstance. Who knows what will happen, but I will enjoy it with the  awareness of change, do what I can to help, and have faith that one way  or another, I will swing dance again. 

The night passed quickly, and as I took my last sip, I realized I wish I  had more Kilchoman to chat with. He may not be "the" perfect Scotch,  but tonight, he was absolutely the perfect Scotch to Swing Dance to. 

Scotch, Song, & Soul is my journey to find the perfect Scotch - join me!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65306.74
ETH 3488.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51