Whisky tasting on a Friday @ a Bull in a China shop Shorditch!

in #whisky7 years ago

So I get a shout to come and get some snaps of some graff at a place that has a shit load of whisky's. To of my favourite things! (Not all but defo two of em loool)

This was a no brainer!

Despite feeling this bug thats been going around coming on I had to use all of my chi to fend it off so I could enjoy the eve.

So I get there and theres a great fitting piece of a bull on the side of the building.

The front of the building doesn't say fine selction of whiskies ( including my favourite at the moment a Japanese whisky called Nika straight from the barrel)

I have to remain focuses though as I'm there to snap some graff!

Once you are inside you get a real warm feeling inside and this urge to stay for while.

There are some cool trinkits and tit bits all over and I can't stop snapping!

I make my way to the garden for the big piece that lays on the wall in the garden and I'm blown away! As you'll see from the pics this is a work of art.

I take a few snaps from a few different angles and then get talking to these 2 gents Stan and Alistair who work for Tomatin a fine whisky company with some bad ass whisky as I was about to find out!

I had taken a few snaps as I was making my way to the garden of the whiskies that were about to be tasted as I liked the way the were set up. I'd shown these two gents and they invited me in straight away.

It was an interesting night as I had never been to a Whisky tasting event and these guys gave me some knowledge on how whisky is made.

It always great when a simple night out turns in to an educational one followed up with good company, great whiskies and some awesome food! Yub Bull in a China shop also do food!

As an establishment I would give the place a solid 9/10 based on location, deco, atmosphere, selection of whiskies, food and service as well.

Defo a spot I will be going to again all I need is a girl who likes a good Whisky ;)

http://www.bullinachinashop.london/

Hope up enjoy the pics ;)

DSC_6068.JPG

DSC_6077.JPG

DSC_6083.JPG

DSC_6092.JPG

DSC_6094.JPG

DSC_6163.JPG

DSC_6104.JPG

DSC_6107.JPG

DSC_6113.JPG

DSC_6117.JPG

DSC_6119.JPG

DSC_6132.JPG

DSC_6133.JPG

DSC_6138.JPG

DSC_6244.JPG

DSC_6146.JPG

DSC_6430.JPG

DSC_6147.JPG

DSC_6171.JPG

DSC_6210.JPG

DSC_6213.JPG

DSC_6262.JPG

DSC_6246.JPG

DSC_6254.JPG

DSC_6299.JPG

DSC_6347.JPG

DSC_6349.JPG

DSC_6367.JPG

DSC_6405.JPG

DSC_6453.JPG

DSC_6458.JPG

DSC_6441.JPG

Sort:  

Is that Tomatin Whisky malt? It does not look like the bottles they sold in the shops in Inverness in the Scottish Highlands. In the early 1990s I used to play football with Inverness Thistle`s youth team and reserves before they merged with Inverness Caley Thistle. The owner of Tomatin Distillery in Tomatin is or still could be old Jock MacDonald. Not sure if he is still alive today but he was the owner of Inverness Thistle before the big merge and then they became Inverness Caley Thistle.

Everything has to be re-branded now as whiskey is big business! They had 5 different types that not but not the full range! 12, 18 year old, cask strentgh, earth and a 1988. They've down sized as well the two gents were saying but still produce some good stuff.
The 18 year old was my cup of tea ;)

It is a popular whisky in the Scottish Highlands Tomatin. Thanks for the info and delighted you managed to taste some of that famous Highland brew.

No worries man it was a great unexpected experience. I've been hooked on this Japanese whisky called Nika so was good to try something new. All the best feller ;)

Thanks for your time and all the best too!

Good photographs by the way!

Tomatin seems like a fine whisky, I may try the cask strength one day.

Also, I'm not quite sure, but the drawing on the wall looks like it's an inspiration from the "castle in the sky" Gibli movie;

Thank you @julienbh I'm learning as I go.
Yeah defo give it a go if whisky is your thing!

If you are local to Shorditch I would also recommend checking out Bull in a China shop ;)

Also could well be an inspiration from studio Gibli. Part of my fascination with art is what images go through the artist mind and how do they get that out from the end of their expressive tool!

No worries! Its a great spot that I'm surprised I've not come across before. Will defo be heading back there ;)

that artwork is pretty amazing. love the colors!
whats your choice in whisky anyways? :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58306.22
ETH 2596.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39