You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Where on Wednesday twenty: House hill ruins

in #whereonwednesday4 years ago

Yes, the scope levels I use (Accuracy 1st and Vortex) mount to the tube. When I am behind the gun though it's as simple as opening my left eye. Once level (I mean when using a bipod) I don't have to level up again until next shot. Different when shooting free hand I guess.

Sort:  

The bipod would make a big difference, haven't used one much. The sling has been a good friend, and I have been thinking about some shooting sticks.

I haven't shot prone much, but I did buy a pad for it.

I will measure the ring, and get a level coming. I like the tritium idea, I have that on my 1911.

:)>

Slings can work well. I have a tactical one that adjusts quickly for fast positional changes. Keeps the gun snug to my shoulder at all times when doing shoot and move drills or in competition.

There's some key factors to remember in prone shooting; Body position and all. YouTube will help.

This reminds me...You might like to check out this guy. I don't use YouTube much but have seen some of this guy's stuff over the years. He seems to know what he is about.

https://www.youtube.com/user/TiborasaurusRex

I like him! This guy is interesting. I have a full set of drawings for a 50 BMG Bolt gun. Collecting metal....

Some good shooting on this video.

Do you practice off hand (non dominant) hand shooting too?

:)>

I think so too, seems to know his stuff and can shoot too.

Do you practice off hand (non dominant) hand shooting too?

I do as competitions often challenge us with that. I shoot IPSC too (handgun) and do the same there. With rifles I also practice shooting on a 90° cant. It's amazing the difference it makes to a shot. Truly amazing. I placed 4th in a comp against 55 of the best long range practical shooters in the country (including military and LEO) a couple years ago because I had cant DOPE and the ability to shoot off-hand.

Here's an IPSC video from YouTube in case you don't know what it is plus a link to the website. https://www.ipsc.org/

They do this at the gun club. The meets are large, and make it difficult to find an open range, as they use a dozen or so ranges. There is a national meet there about once a year.

Glad you mix it up! I found that when I started firing black powder, my modern rifle shooting improved. With black powder the shooter has to hold the site picture while the slow powder burns.

:)>

Yeah, IPSC tends to commandeer ranges. I like to mix it up though and it works, for fun. I shot some black powder guns once. It's pretty cool to be honest although I don't know much about it. Makes one respect the wild west gunfighters of the past though huh?

True, they were impressive; it is hard to make them reliable! I have a flintlock pistol I am still trying to get a reliable spark from the frizzen.

It is pretty fun though!

:)>

Flintlock? Now that's Old-school! Never fired one. Now I want to! I bet it's cool as! Pistols at 20 paces bro! 🙈

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 71005.71
ETH 3788.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.47