#thediarygame 200908 | BAD DAY

in #wherein4 years ago

Not so much of fun anymore. Wife informed the temperature keep on bugging at the red line. It happened a week before, I took it to the mechanics and try to fix the radiator, replaced the coolant, changed some hoses and it's looking good. Car was happily going around until Tuesday afternoon, where wife told me temperature is going very high again.

Car still driving normally other than the high temperature, but wife knows what is she doing, sorry for her to have waited the car to cool down before she can drive again. After several hours, she managed the kids back home, and sent the car to the workshop. We're trying to find out how whats wrong with the car since the engine keeps on getting overheat.

The sad thing happened when the engine oil cap being opened, and we saw a milk color starchy stuff stuck at the oil cap. My heart went broken into trillion pieces immediately. When there's white color residue on the cap, which means there is water INSIDE the engine. When that happens, good chance is there's a fried head gasket, which will result the coolant to sip in to the engine oil rails.

While having a busted head gasket is small issue, we can always get the valve train reseat, change the head gasket and plonk it back, and we're good. Now, the biggest problem is after we took out the engine head, put a linear measurement tool on the engine block and found the engine block was crooked.There's no way we will be able to reseal the head properly, even if we put two pieces of gasket to it, matter of time the gasket will start to leak again.

So, done is done. There's nothing much we can do about the engine anymore. I can always put a slice of head gasket to it, change the oil and sell it to another person, but thinking of what happen to me now. The previous owner probably having the same issue and pass down the responsibility to me to fix the car. I mean come on, do I look like that kind of bad guy? I asked myself several times, and I got the exact same answer, I will not do this to the next owner. So, I'm gonna change the engine, get it repair properly and continue to use it. The engine will cost me some 4000 bucks, and with other additional charges on shipment and stuff, it's gonna be somewhere around 5000.

What a bummer

[WhereIn Android] (http://www.wherein.io)

Sort:  

拉哥,你这是自己修车啊、
好厉害。

老司机牌发动机

[WhereIn Android] (http://www.wherein.io)

That definitely is a bummer.
I blew a head gasket on a car once, and the repair exceeded the value of the car, so I ended up scraping it. It was a 1990 Chevrolet Cavalier, which is a pretty decent car.

It sounds like you were bamboozled into buying a lemon.
That really sucks.
!shop

Even the mechanic couldn't tell until we open up the engine and look inside. It clearly has been repaired at least once(probably more), the block is warped, there's nothing much the previous owner can do to save it. I can try to save it by sending the block to machine off a layer of the head so it become flat again, but then the compression will be too high as the current warp angle up to 1.6mm deep(which explain how the coolant leaked into engine room). So, I could have just change the gasket again, may be put 2 gaskets to seal off the breach temporary and sell the car again. But what will happen to the next owner? Is he going to put 3 gasket and sell the car again? So, this has to stop. I'll take the lemon, squeeze it and add a little bit of dry gin and salt to it. Replacement engine on the way.

Hi~ 金鱼佬!
@futuremind has gifted you 1 SHOP!

Currently you have: 214 SHOP

View or Exchange SHOP Please go to steem-engine.com.

Are you bored? Play Rock,Paper,Scissors game with me!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61297.02
ETH 2687.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59