You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The End of All Things :: A Short Story :: 'What Would You Do' contest entry

in #whatwouldyoudo6 years ago (edited)

An amazingly gripping story, Negativer. A little short on compassion for his poor wife though. What she did was an act of love and one that most would not have found the courage to do. I don't think I could have. Michael on the other hand took the cowards way and kept the meteor a secret and did nothing. Is obedience and meekness more valued in the eyes of this 'rock god' than courage and bravery? I wonder. I'd rather hang with a God with a little more compassion and understanding. I may be doomed ...lol:)

Again the story was marvellous:)

Sort:  

A thoroughly insightful take on it. To some extent I did want to imply how arbitrary the rules of 'salvation' and 'damnation' might be, especially for certain religions that put so much weight on 'acts and deeds' versus what is truly in one's soul.

I am so glad you found the mother's decision to be an act of love, since in its simplest form that is really all it was. She did not know what she was giving up by doing it. The act was certainly painful for her as a mother, but she did it for her children to spare them from something worse.

Thank you so much for reading, and your thoughts!

I look forward to your tales:)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 64010.98
ETH 2791.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65