You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The End of All Things :: A Short Story :: 'What Would You Do' contest entry

What the actual...?
Ugh. Frick Negativer, this was a good story. I definitely did not see a Left Behind twist, but it also was bizarrely human and awful. Like, God comes and people kill their children and selves out of fear. It's such a bizarre juxtaposition and I sorta love it.

Sort:  

Thanks! I wanted to write it longer, to kind of drag out the last days a bit, but...steemit attention span and all that talked me out of it. As it was, it ended up wrapping up pretty quick, and I would have wanted to spend more time making a statement about how all the 'works' and 'good deeds' that people do that they think are buying themselves an entry into some kind of heaven or afterlife really is meaningless to the God of the Universe.

Thx for reading!

Ya know, I've had new thoughts on that. Sure, good works/deeds won't get you in but, as Christians, it's kinda senseless to spend all our time in worship or trying to "sell God" to people. Christian means to live Christ-like, so doesn't that include loving those we wouldn't usually love or feeding the poor and uplifting our neighbors? Through kind, sincere acts, His light and movement will have room to grow or whatever.
I got preachy, lolz.
Thanks for prompting discussion?

Right, I agree with all that. But praising God 24/7 is still often a 'deed' that someone thinks they can use to earn safe passage (and a lot of it ends up just helping you feel self-righteous for the amazing amount of prayer you did today and oh boy look at me in my passionate worship)

I'm no expert, but my position is that when you take God/Christ/the Lord into your heart, your works will speak for themselves, and you will be a light to the world. As a result, you would want to act as Christ would act, and all the care/love/help of others is just naturally part of that. You don't do it to 'rack up points', you do it because the Holy Spirit works in you, and you want to do it to please Him. (or some variation of that)

I don't fully believe all that, to be honest, but I'd like to.

I hope you do eventually bud. That was beautiful (without being schmucky, wipes tear).

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59504.00
ETH 2984.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.74