#WhatsCookingChallenge: Pasta Salad

Pasta Salad

PlateItUp.jpg

Click the above photo to enlarge

We stay at lots of RV parks. They love to host pot luck dinners, lunches and brunches. This is one of my go to side dishes that’s easy to make and always a big hit. It’s tasty and colorful and stands out from the rest. This is my own original recipe. I’ve added ingredients over the years and subtracted others. This is my final version. There’s very little prep work, so it’s a very no-stress recipe. The Giardiniera and pepper rings provide enough zip that no other dressing or sauce is required.

This is my entry for #whatscookingchallenge by @jaynie.

Ingredients

1 lb. multi-colored rotini pasta
Olive oil
1 red onion diced
16 fl oz Italian mix Giardiniera drained
16 fl oz sliced pepper rings drained
8 oz can small ripe pitted olives drained
6 oz sliced pepperoni
1 lb mozzarella cheese cut in 1/2” cubes
Salt, pepper and garlic powder to taste

Ingredients.jpg

Directions

Cook the pasta according to package directions. Drain, coat with olive oil and set aside to cool down.

CookThePasta.jpg
Cook the pasta

DrainThePasta.jpg
Drain the pasta.

CoolDown.jpg
Transfer the pasta back to the stock pot that you used to cook it. Coat with olive oil to keep it from sticking together. Let it cool down for at least an hour.

DiceOnion.jpg
Dice the onions

AddOnions.jpg
Add the onions

CutTheCheese.jpg
Cut the cheese

AddTheCheese.jpg
Add the cheese

AddTheRest.jpg
Add the rest of the ingredients and seasoning

StirItUp.jpg
Stir it up! Let it rest for about 20 minutes to allow the flavors to combine. the adjust the seasonings. You may want add a little more olive oil at this time also.

PlateItUp.jpg
Plate it up.

Me.jpg
Grab a glass of wine and enjoy! It was the wine @jaynie that sucked me into this challenge! haha!!!

Here’s the challenge:

NB: The #whatscookingchallenge is an ONGOING challenge, so you can enter WHENEVER you want and as OFTEN as you want!
1: Use the #whatscookingchallenge tag and tag me @jaynie in your post.
2: Create and publish a post showcasing something that you have prepared in your kitchen which is either
a) uniquely yours, or
b) has been adapted and made your own.
(The more elaborate the post the better, naturally...)
PS. This is NOT limited to "plates of food" - it can be preserves, snacks, anything!
3: Accompany the post with at least 2 photos of whatever it is that you have prepared.
(and in the spirit of avoiding plagiarism, a photo of YOU WITH your dish would be a plus, but is not a
requirement)
4: Tag at least 5 (but not limited to) of your foodie friends that you think would like to participate...

MY NOMINATIONS
to participate this time are:
@goldendawne
@TraciYork
@Mutitum
@zord189
@jeanwandimi

All photos and text in my posts are my original work.
@originalworks

Please visit my galleries on the following sites:
Society6
Fine Art America

Follow me on Facebook

Enjoy!

Roger



Animated Banner Created By @zord189

Sort:  

This looked so delicious. Do you recommend replacing mozzarella with feta instead? :) @rwedegis anyway, i can imagine eating this as salad too. Will make a great comfort food be it cold and warm ...

Thank you @deborism! Feta would work well with this. I you go with the feta try it with pitted kalamata olives!

Absolutely LOVE the stuff you prep @rwedegis!!!! Thank you for being such a good sport and entering the #whatscookingchallenge - I REEEEEEEAAALLLY look forward to more from you!! xxx

Oh.... and WHERE are my manners.... CHEERS!!!!! MWAH!!!!!!

You lured me in by offering an opportunity to have a glass of wine early in the day! Not that I needed one! lol! Now getting a photo of me that's another matter! Hahaha!

You did VERY well on ALL counts @rwedegis ;)

Your pasta looks so colourful and delicious! Thanks for sharing ur receipe with us @rwedegis! :)

Thank you so much for your comments!

Oooo, yummy! And yeah, leave it to @jaynie to bribe people with wine - LOL! Thanks for tagging me - I may just give this another go, and I'll be sure to tag you again. In fact, this could be the tag that doesn't end... it just goes on and on, my friend... LOL

HaHa! Tag me that would be great!

Planning on it! 😊

beautiful!! love this meal and you look so happy!! wine must have helped :)

Thank you Eagle! It was my first glass! LOL!

ahhahaha yeah yeah

It was! Thank you for your comments, my friend!

i believe you, just teasing :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 63718.61
ETH 3390.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62