#WhatsCookingChallenge - Lamb Shank with Cauli Mash

in #whatscookingchallenge6 years ago (edited)

edited shank.jpg

❤ Ola Foodies ❤

Ok, so I am actually two days late with this post, but we hit the road to franschoek yesterday which you can read about in my Oysters & Venison fun @ Haute Cabrière - Franschoek, Cape Town - South Africa post. It was a fabulous day out, but I unfortunately didn't have enough time, or energy lol to compile this post too... soooo nonetheless, here it is now.

The other day the weather turned quite miffy here in Cape Town, so I decided that it would be a good day to do a lamb shank! Traditionally, lamb shank is served with mashed potato - but as I don't really eat much potato anymore, I got into the habit of serving it with rice or cous cous as I kind of "over did" the cauli mash some time back - but it has been quite a long time since I have made that... So, in the spirit of a comments conversation I had with @rwedegis, I decided to do it with cauli mash.

#WhatsCookingChallenge - Lamb Shank with Cauli Mash

🍴

I absolutely love preparing ANYTHING in my sexy orange cast iron pot!
It has a magical way of making absolutely everything delicious! lol

20180409_145938.jpg

anyhooo, enough about my pot lol... lets get to the lamb shank.

So first of all, I heated the pot and added a little olive oil,
just to braise the shanks.

20180409_151752.jpg

Once the shanks were nicely sealed,
I removed them from the heat,
and put the pot one side to deal with the cauliflower.

I boiled the pot of water on the same plate
that I had just used for the shanks

Let the cauli boil until it is nice and soft,
which generally takes about 12-15 minutes.

20180409_155232.jpg

Once the cauli is cooked,
remove it from the heat, drain it
and allow it stand for a little bit in a colander
so that it drains properly,
otherwise your mash will be very watery.

20180409_163113.jpg

While that is busy cooling down and draining,
place your shanks back on to the heat.

And get all your other goodies ready...

20180409_161003.jpg

I am pretty casual about what I throw into a shank pot,
haha - not unlike most of what I make.

On this occasion is was
Rosemary & chopped french chives,
Garlic,
Baby tomatoes,
A chopped onion,
about a litre of chicken stock,
and some baby carrots.

Throw this all into the pot.

20180409_162519.jpg

Add about a cup of red wine
for delicious richness

20180409_162740_001_01.jpg

oh and last but DEFINITELY not least,
lets not forget about my repeatedly used magic ingredient..
A nice healthy dollop of.. yes you guessed it @rwedegis...
CHUTNEY! haha!

20180409_162937_020_01.jpg

Bring it to the boil for about 5 minutes,
and then lower the heat,
pop the lid back on so it can simmer slowly
and then leave it for a few hours on low.

The longer you leave it, the more tender your shanks.
So I normally cook it for about 2 -3 hours.

While that was taking care of itself,
I went back to finish the cauli mash,
which had now cooled and drained nicely.

I added a dollop of butter,
some potato spice,
a little salt and fine black pepper
and a little milk (as I forgot to buy cream) lol

20180409_165256.jpg

I then used my hand blender to get it nice and creamy,
but if you do not have a blender,
the cauli really should be tender enough to use a traditional
potato masher or even a simple fork.

The end result is really deliciously creamy looking!

20180409_165516.jpg

Once that was done,
I heated the oven to 250 degrees Celsius,
and while that was heating up,
I prepped the left over baby carrots for plating garnish.

So I coated them in a little olive oil, vegetable spice
and light sprinkling of sugar.

20180409_163721.jpg

and popped them in the oven,
for literally 10 minutes...
just above middle level

until they are lovely and syrupy looking.

Once the shanks were finished cooking,
I removed them from the bot and brought the pot juices
to the boil again,
reducing and thickening it.

In this instance, I simply thickened it with a little flour and water,
but you can use whatever method works for you the best.

And that was it!

Everything was pretty much ready for serving!

I decided to break the rules again
(as I do haha)
and try something different with the plating aspect of things.

Instead of having the gravy on the plate with the shanks and mash,
I decided to serve the gravy in a side dish,
which you could pour over yourself.

To my mind, it just make the presentation
a lot more aesthetically pleasing to the eye.

20180409_200806.jpg

edited shank.jpg

And the meat was just
DELIGHTFULLY, FALL APART tender!
It was a SUPER plate of comfort food!

20180409_203630.jpg

……

Until next time...
Much Love from Cape Town, South Africa xxx

Steemit logo Jaynielea.png

FOUNDER OF THE #STEEMITBLOGGERS

Steemit Bloggers

SB-Marvel-Family.gif

Follow our AMAZING community of QUALITY bloggers @steemitbloggers

……

If you are a PASSIONATE foodie then why not take part
in my ongoing cooking challenge...


This challenge is open to EVERYONE
(Boys and girls, Young and old)
whether you consider yourself a professional,
novice or complete disaster in the kitchen!
You can scout for one of my latest announcements
by searching the "new" feed for the below tag

#whatscookingchallenge

……

Do you write positive, motivational or inspiring content?
Want it given a little more attention?
Then why not support...

header.jpg

@theluvbug is all about spreading the STEEMIT LOVE
with upvotes and resteems of
INSPIRING, MOTIVATIONAL & POSITIVE Steemit content.
Use #theluvbug to get my attention :)

......

Sort:  

Gorgeous meal @jayne! You've got me salivating again! You're sooooo sweet making the cauli mash just for me! hahaha! Have you ever tried steaming the cauli? Less to drain and keeps in all the good healthy stuff! I can't remember when the last time I had lamb was. Now you've got me craving it! I saw the wine going into the pot, but where was the cook's ration??? hahaha!!! Also. I feel very honored being mentioned twice in one post!!! Thank you so much!

hahaha @rwedegis - trust me, the cook got a fair rationing of wine lol! And as for the steaming, yes, you are right - that is a much healthier option. I do do it on occasion, but not all the time though.... and I have no excuse as to why not haha!!

@jaynie what an awsome meal.Love slow cooked,oh so tender, melt in your mouth lamb shank.Salivating already just describing it especially with the gravy.I am loving the cauli mash.I am such a carb feend, thats an awsome alternative.The carrots look so pretty, kinda sad you have to eat them.lol.Thanks for sharing.Feeling hungry now.lol

hehehe glad you like it @pamcooks and thank you for the lovely compliment xxxx

Divine food and a recipe. And the photos are so chic. that you can swallow your tongue!

That lamb looks so deliciousI should try to cook this soon!

Thanks @simonscooking I hope you do give it a go!

Beautifully presented and a great meal for those days when we feel like some comfort food!

Thanks mom xoxoxoxo

What about now? Lol. Sorry for being rude.

lol um - lets just move on to the next topic shall we @amarbir ;)

Yup. That's why I apologized.

@jaynie, I just don't have words , You made me hungry. But I have already night and I must wait until morning, ha ha, Thank you for delicious photos :)

And thank you too for the lovely compliment @madlenfox xxx

This is stunning! Seriously, love the look of it and it does look very appetizing!

Thank you hon x

These foods are very classic. @jaynie

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60684.92
ETH 2911.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30