#WhatsCookingChallenge - Kielbasa Sausage & Basil Stew with Dumplings.

in #whatscookingchallenge6 years ago (edited)

cropped food.jpg

❤ Ola Foodies ❤

When I am deciding what to cook for dinner,
I generally make the decision of what meat I feel like first
and then work everything else around that.
Last week Thursday I decided I felt like a stew but wanted to
do something a little different...

I Had a browse through some pork recipe images on google
and came up with a very interesting concoction of my own by
combining and altering a couple of different recipes,
and daaaamn was it a good end result :)

#WhatsCookingChallenge - Kielbasa Sausage & Basil Stew with Dumplings.

🍴

This honestly was one of the tastiest stews I have made in a long time,
and not only is it completely unique,
but it has dumplings!!!! So need I even say more?! haha
Whilst I have eaten dumplings on plenty of occasions,
I have never actually made them and was pleasantly surprised at how easy they are!

For the Dumplings you will need:

One cup of all purpose flour
Half a teaspoon of salt
Two teaspoons of baking soda
One tablespoon of butter
A handful of chopped parsley
One teaspoon of sugar
Half a cup of milk

For the Stew you will need:

A pack or two of kielbasa (polish) smoked sausage
A pack of celery, chopped
one sweet red bell pepper roughly chopped
A pack of carrots (ready peeled are great)
A few sprigs of Garlic chives chopped
A handful of fresh basil leaves chopped
A small bunch of lemon thyme
One litre of chicken stock

🍴

So first of all lets get to the dumplings.

Mix all of the above listed
dumpling ingredients in a bowl.
You can use a fork, but personally
I find hands the most effective.

knead it until you end up with a nice
dough like consistency.

20180426_155547.jpg

20180426_161142.jpg

Pour some flour onto a saucer or plate
so that you can coat your hands
and then roll the dumpling balls...

20180426_162137.jpg

That's it!
Your dumplings are ready to roll!
So put them one side while we get the stew going...

Slice up your kielbasa sausage,
and put one side.

20180426_164201.jpg

Chop up the celery, basil, garlic chives, lemon thyme
and the red bell pepper.

20180426_162711.jpg

20180426_163536.jpg

Heat up a deep pan or pot with a little olive oil.
A deep pan is ideal for this as it has a wider diameter
than a pot, which is better suited for the dumplings later on.

Once heated, saute the celery, basil, garlic chives
and the red bell pepper.

20180426_164316.jpg

Pour in your chicken stock,
add the sausage slices, a little salt and pepper to taste
and your carrots.
pop the lid on
and bring it to a medium boil.

20180426_165003_001.jpg

20180426_165223.jpg

Once it has reached a consistent medium boil,
add the dumpling balls
and immediately put the lid back on again.
After about 2 min you can drop the heat to
medium to low and allow it to cook for
approx. 45 min.

It is REALLY important not to lift the lid
during this time, as the dumplings will "flop".

The second you place them in the pot,
you will see how they begin to grow and opening the lid
will ruin this process.

20180426_174343.jpg

20180426_174615.jpg

And that's it!
After 45 min your stew will be ready to serve :)

Super easy and EXCEPTIONALLY tasty!!!!

ENJOY!

20180426_203133.jpg

20180426_203024.jpg

🍴

Until next time...
Much Love from Cape Town, South Africa xxx

Steemit logo Jaynielea.png

FOUNDER OF THE #STEEMITBLOGGERS

Steemit Bloggers

SB-Marvel-Family.gif

Follow our AMAZING community of QUALITY bloggers @steemitbloggers

……

If you are a PASSIONATE foodie then why not take part
in my ongoing cooking challenge...


This challenge is open to EVERYONE
(Boys and girls, Young and old)
whether you consider yourself a professional,
novice or complete disaster in the kitchen!
You can scout for one of my latest announcements
by searching the "new" feed for the below tag

#whatscookingchallenge

……

Do you write positive, motivational or inspiring content?
Want it given a little more attention?
Then why not support...

header.jpg

@theluvbug is all about spreading the STEEMIT LOVE
with upvotes and resteems of
INSPIRING, MOTIVATIONAL & POSITIVE Steemit content.
Use #theluvbug to get my attention :)

......

Sort:  

In my opinion the end result matter and the end result of this dish is awesome and literally reflecting as an delicious stuffed soup and i hope that you really enjoyed it and it gives more pleasure when we make it our own. Thanks for sharing the ingredients details and step by step "How To" process. 🙂

This post, with over $50.00 in bidbot payouts, has received votes from the following:

postpromoter payout in the amount of $107 STU, $236 USD.

For a total calculated bidbot upvote value of $107 STU, $236 USD before curation, with approx. $27 USD curation being earned by the bidbots.

This information is being presented in the interest of transparency on our platform @jaynie and is by no means a judgement of your work.

You really are rather annoying... my wallet offers complete transparency, so tell me again what purpose you serve?

It look delicious recipe. You made me hungry at midnight . Also best of luck with the steemitblogger . Keep up the great work

Thank you @azizbd :) Apologies for making you hungry in the middle of the night lol! If I could "teleport" a portion, I would ;)

haha. it is so far but thanks. As i say, nothing is impossible to a willing mind. hope one day you we can test your recipies and can't wait to see the advancement of teleport technologies, as faster as steem :)

This looks wonderful! I would never have thought that dumplings would work with this, but why not. I love the idea! Once again @jaynie you've come up with something amazing!

Thank you @rwedegis. In all honesty, I was looking for a replacement for the standard stew starch (ie. Rice, potato etc.) And I looooove dumplings, so when my brain triggered, I was all like... yeah baby yeaaaah haha and it REALLY was sooooo good!!! :)

Phenomenal post...those dumplings look so yummy! Thanks for letting me know about the #whatscookingchallenge - I had no idea it was a thing!

...and now you do ;)

Thanks again!

I also love to cook.Looks like it is a good recipe.mam your food looking very tasty and yammy.Seeing this food, I grew hungry.thanks mam for sharing your post

And thank you too... for stopping by and showing your support ;)

The pictures are making me hungry LOL. I’m definitely going to try and recreate this dish.

Hope you enjoy it if you do :)

Good cuisine, clean and hygienic presentation and how to make it very artful

Thank you

Damn.....ok........now I'm hungry. To S.A. I go!!! U5dte9Bnd4RtweFJBqTLoq2K2SPc1q1.gif

hahahaha!!! You never arrived... :P

I lost my damn cape.
LOL!!!!!😂😂🤣😂😂

It really looks delicious and easy to make. Very good combination of ingredients really looks fantastic. Thank you for sharing your experience in the kitchen that will be very useful;)

Thank you

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61110.07
ETH 2731.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45