#WhatsCookingChallenge - (almost) Low Carb Shepherds Pie with Grated Cucumber, Tomato, Chutney and Feta.

cropped.jpg

❤ Ola Foodies ❤

Over the last few years I have sacrificed many of my favourite
comfort food meals, because I pretty much cut out ALL carbs.
But after some time, this gets a little long in the tooth,
so you learn to find "other" ways to bring those old "loves"
back into your life...

And once you start exploring that avenue,
which I did several years ago -
you will realise that it really isn't that hard to
create an "almost" equal...

#WhatsCookingChallenge - (almost) Low Carb Shepherds Pie with Grated Cucumber, Tomato, Chutney and Feta.

🍴

There is something so wonderfully inviting about comfort food!
They are the kind of meal that just give you that warm and fuzzy feeling!

I have always loved Shepherds Pie,
and although this "version" is not made with traditional potato,
it is not ANY less tasty!

Ok so essentially this is like any cottage pie,
except with added extras...
and topped with something a little different...

So, first of all instead of a traditional mashed potato topping,
we are going to do a sweet potato and butternut mash...

Boil those up until nice and tender,
mash, add some butter, salt and pepper
and then put one side.

20180508_163711.jpg

For the mince base, you will need mince... duh! lol

Heat a pot with some olive oil,
and when ready,
as lazy Jayne does... she throws it all in at one go -
yeah - I make my own rules lol!

And by "all" I mean:

I like to add all kinds of leftovers -
which I did this time around...

as well as a few fresh additions -
which consisted of some julienne carrots and French chives.

20180508_163844.jpg

The "waste not want not" ingredients consisted of
some left over salsa rice, plain rice,
some herbs in the fridge that were past their prime,
a bit of "not suitable for a salad anymore" baby spinach
and an onion which I had chopped, sealed and not used...

20180508_164319.jpg

And so... it ALL goes in!!!

20180508_164538.jpg

including some chopped garlic,
a chicken stock cube,
a couple of bay leaves,
some chicken spice
and yes @rwedegis - some chutney ;)

20180508_164736.jpg

I was not kidding when I said I throw it all in at once lol
I don't saute sh!t lol -
I literally just throw it all in...

I am guessing the guys will like this - lol...
"no mess, no fuss" hahaha!!!!

20180508_164910.jpg

20180508_165225.jpg

so yes, the above photo is where the "almost" low carb
part comes in, but I mean honestly,
in the grand scheme of things, if I got 20 grains on my plate,
it was a lot - and I am ok with that haha!

Ok, so once the sweet potato and butternut mash are done,
as well as the mince -
then you need to put them into an oven dish....

20180508_174922.jpg

be sure to compress the mince nicely,
with the back of a spoon or such -
as this makes "serving" a lot easier later....

add the mash and be sure to spread it
evenly all over.
I am not a fan of a "smooth top"
I prefer a "rugged" look,
so I use a fork for this...

then pop it under the grill,
don't walk away for too long,
otherwise it will be completely black haha!

20180508_183802.jpg

I then crumbled a little feta cheese
and chopped french chives on top,
and put it back into the oven at a VERY low temp...
like 50 degrees Celsius - just enough to keep it warm,
and slightly soften the feta.

20180508_184049.jpg

I served this very simply...
A little grated cucumber, some Italian tomatoes,
and a slide of chutney and feta...

ENJOY!!

20180508_191155.jpg

20180508_191139.jpg

20180508_191145.jpg

20180508_191252.jpg

20180508_191324.jpg

……

Until next time...
Much Love from Cape Town, South Africa xxx

Steemit logo Jaynielea.png

FOUNDER OF THE #STEEMITBLOGGERS

Steemit Bloggers

SB-Marvel-Family.gif

Follow our AMAZING community of QUALITY bloggers @steemitbloggers

……

If you are a PASSIONATE foodie then why not take part
in my ongoing cooking challenge...


This challenge is open to EVERYONE
(Boys and girls, Young and old)
whether you consider yourself a professional,
novice or complete disaster in the kitchen!
You can scout for one of my latest announcements
by searching the "new" feed for the below tag

#whatscookingchallenge

……

Do you write positive, motivational or inspiring content?
Want it given a little more attention?
Then why not support...

header.jpg

@theluvbug is all about spreading the STEEMIT LOVE
with upvotes and resteems of
INSPIRING, MOTIVATIONAL & POSITIVE Steemit content.
Use #theluvbug to get my attention :)

......

Sort:  

Hi dear, you did it again.... That's looking really sumptuos; it's a huge thumbs up from me...... Much love💞

Thanks angel :)

You're so welcomed

This begins the list of things to make from the garden goodies this year! We have just begun to harvest this seasons first bits, its about to get veggie-centric in the kitchen!

I've also added the #whatscookingchallenge to my post ideas list.

Just a list kind of a day I guess!

hahaha @borrowedearth, well it all sounds very productive ;) And when you do get to the #whatscookingchallenge - I look forward to seeing what you come up with... I have no doubt that it will be completely unique! :)

Wow! I'd actually really love that. Looks awesome! Resteemed!

Thank you @mepatriot :) I appreciate the support very much :)

looks yummi ;)
Resteemed!

oh wow, thank you very much @themaex - I appreciate the support very much :)

Nice idea 💡 Extraordinary presentation👌

Thank you very much for the positive feedback :)

Looks delicious I must say! The plating is so clean, simple yet nice! Keep cooking @jaynie!

Thank you :) I appreciate the feedback :)

Great Post! it's so hard to feed healthy this days

Thank you :)

Low Carb Shepherds Pie with Grated Cucumber, Tomato, Chutney and Feta.
Looks really nutritious, it's so delicious. I will love to try the recipe out. Thanks for sharing

Glad you liked it :)

Yes I did
U welcome

Awesome, always nice to see interesting low carb recipes. Great pictures too.

Thank you for the positive input :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66441.00
ETH 3217.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.22