You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 1850 California Gold Rush Letter #whatintheworldsgoldmoney

Amazing thanks for sharing. Not sure if I can put it into words how much seeing this post means to me. I was born in Sacramento and raised in the foothills of the "gold rush" boom. It is my favorite place to visit sacramento and all of gold country when I go to california. It is a place so rich in history you can feel the energy in the air. I've lived in Moke Hill or mokoleumne hill which was a huge mining town. Alot of the mines would cave in because it was an absolute mad house with people all over mining. I lived in columbia also and the creek mentioned sound very familiar. That area was also where Black Bart was stagecoach robbing in those days. From Wells Fargo Bank I believe it was yeah I spent most of my life in sacrament, toulumne, and calaveras county.

Sort:  

Awesome, that would be so great to be able to explore. I know one of the letters from this group mentioned a stagecoach robbery, several mentioned how difficult it was to get money or gold sent home. You would pay the person a huge fee (in gold) to deliver the gold, then they would either keep it all or get killed on the way. Another told of seeing a man get killed by another man outside the saloon, in a knife fight over a card game. All had the same underlying message....it's not what you think, don't come here thinking that there are easy riches to be found. Even the stories of him finding good gold were followed by how expensive his provisions were there. Thanks for reading! I really enjoy researching that era! Please Resteem this post to others, if you can.

resteemed. Yes the gold rush was not all good. Many people died in hopes of becoming extremely well off but never made it.

Thank you, really appreciate your comments and resteem!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 68870.08
ETH 3734.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73