The New Minnow Fish and the Big Friendly Whale 🐋

in #whaleshares7 years ago (edited)

zzUntitled.jpg

So there I was stuck in my facebook prison - and woosh - the door was shown to me and I darted out. I had escaped at last.

All of a sudden things felt more fluid, more watery......I was flushed out of a toxic stream into a new and exciting ocean - an ocean of a new, progressive, rational, social-media-economy; Steemit.

I looked about, and all felt so new and strange, but I could breath in here, w...w..with my new gills.....my new gills? Oh my, I was a fish - a small minnow fish.

But it's so fun being a minnow fish, I can swim anywhere I want real fast, and purify the waters of this growing ocean with fresh and heart-filled posts. I can philosophize, take pictures, write stories, voice opinion....well - I can move my mouth like this O then this - , but you all understand me - and you I,and I can go anywhere and try to understand all of the other creatures in this vast ocean.

Then one day I saw a large group of new arrivals, more minnow fish. They were all so happy, darting around and playing, swimming in their new found freedom of creativity and learning.

sardine_school_684.jpg

I spoke to some of them;

"Hey small minnow fish, what's up, what are we doing here?"
"We don't really understand," a few replied with glee.
"Something about Steem Power, Steem dollars, and Cryptic Coins, but we don't really know," another replied happily.
"We just like being creative," a smaller group replied.
"It's crypto not cryptic," one said to the other.
"fishtip, mystic, hyptic," the small fish replied sarcastically, "I don't understand any of it, I just want to play without the CIA or adverts controlling me." He continued.
"Yaaaaaay," the whole school replied in unison.

I joined the school of minnow fish for a while and it was so much fun. We learnt together, followed each other everywhere, played tag, and voted up together with our small dainty fins. It was a great time. Some even earned some small scraps of food - which we all tried to share.

A few times others and myself tried to vote on some decisions in the ocean, or we tried to back another minnow's opinion, but nobody could hear us, but we didn't care - we were having fun.

I'll never forget those days.

Then one day a group of Dolphins came, and we watched them with awe. They were so beautiful.

892408_orig.jpg

They had spent much more time than us in this exciting ocean, and invested many resources into it. They sometimes even helped some minnow fish, when they had some nice opinions, or art, that the dolphin's thought worthy of getting out further into the ocean.

When the dolphin's voted, they began to entice others to vote. These dolphins had a power that literally grew by itself by just swimming in the ocean.

Wow.

We loved the dolphins, and even wanted to be like them one day.

On some very rare occasions, the dolphins fed on us, and other times they ignored us, this made some of the minnow fish sad, and some even left the ocean never to return.....which was bad for the whole ocean I thought.

Then one day I went out on my own - deep into depths of the hot, trending, and promoted ocean beds. I could see a few other minnows there, and some dolphins, and then I came across a large whale.......and he was gobbling up some minnow fish without a care in the world.

feeding-whale-shark-159237041-572516985f9b589e34b1fe3f.jpg

This was a big kahuna whale. When he liked something, the whole ocean knew about it. This was a whale with so many powers, that when he moved other's just watched in awe. This one was so big he could even make decisions on the size, temperature, and infrastructure of the ocean. He could even go to the cryptic-markets and exchange large coins or something for fruits and other powers (well that's what I was told by another minnow in my school).

"Hey Mr big whale-head, stop eating minnows," I shouted, while waving my left fin (which caused me to do two quick circles).

He stopped hoovering up some minnows, and slowly came right up to me. It was as if the whole ocean was watching;

"Ho ho ho, and what do we have here, a minnow with an opinion, you are lucky to even see me, let alone get to hear my voice." Some dolphins stopped fondling it's balls as it shrugged them off effortlessly.

"I am honored Mr Whale," I said shakily. "I'm new here and just want to say Hi. I've heard there's some imbalance in the ocean, but unlike others, I want to say thank you for putting in so much effort and resources into an ocean that has no CIA or adverts." I tried to clap my fins, but this just made we swim backwards in strange pulse movements.

"Ah, that's kind of you little minnow fish, I've been quite sad recently really, whenever I go to look at something in the ocean for fun, I have schools of dolphins following me and watching to see how much I like or dislike something. Everyone seems to forget that I have interests too, just like you little minnow fish. We are not that dissimilar you see - we both like to be stimulated by art, opinion, and creativity, it's just I've been here digesting for so long, I got so big. So big I have to go to market and exchange some of my power into cryptos."

"Well, from all the super fresh new minnow, I just want to say hi Mr Whale-head, I don't know if i want to grow as big as you, but I do know I support the ocean, even if some think it isn't perfect. For me and my friends, it's the best ocean there is, so we want to play in it, so there!"

"Ho ho ho, it's nice for once to be noticed and spoken to freely by a minnow fish, most are scared of us, or don't even know of us. Sometimes I just want to be a minnow again, but other times I like being so powerful. You see I need this size and slowness of Zen in my movements, to allow me to wield such power, do you understand?"

"I understand Mr Whale," And I went up to stroke his nose with my fin before I continued, "C...c..c.could you please send me some tiny flickers of power Mr Whale-head? I'm so small that sometimes when I swim, the current pushes me into a spin in the wrong direction.....and I need my direction so my friends and I can color the ocean with our flowers of creativity, knowledge, and opinion."

921921.gif

"Hmmm, I will think on this for a short while, but why do you call them flowers little minnow fish?" The large Whale bemused.

"Well, just like all our minnow articles Mr Whale, nobody sees a flower really, it's so small, others haven't time, and to see takes time - like to have a friend takes time."

Then Mr Whale and the minnow-fish became friends, just like they should be......and the minnow fish slowly got a little fatter.

****----The End----****

Sort:  

That's such a great description of what happens, lol :D

Great story! I agree that it doesn't matter if we minnows ever reach dolphin or whale status because it's much more freeing to post here on steemit than it is or was Facebook.

Thank you - yes, I agree with all you say :-)

just upvoted and followed u..plz follow me back..

You have a talent for storytelling! This made me think about the whole Steemit ecosystem.

Thanks Erlik.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by waykiwayki from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Most excellent story. Thank you for posting - I hope a few whales get to read it.

Thank you pennsif.....alas, I think this one is off the radar in a big ocean......but it matters not :-)

Keep producing great stories like this and I'm sure the rewards will come.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 63966.12
ETH 2753.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66