My First Time Using Whaleshares

in #whaleshares6 years ago (edited)

Hello, Steemheads!

I tested using whaleshares last night to get an upvote for a post. I've had whaleshares during my first month in Steemit by winning them from meme and GIF contests. I had them for awhile now and I've been in the Whaleshares community in Discord for a time now, just lurking.

You need a decentralized exchange like Bitshares or Openledger for whaleshares. I chose Bitshares between the two. You can also buy whaleshares via Blocktrades by exchanging Steem/SBDs to BTS and once you have BTS in Bitshares, you can convert them to whaleshares and spend them to get votes. The process is pretty easy.

For those who do not know what Whaleshare is, whaleshare is a token used to get an upvote from a whale in Steemit or Golos platforms, this is a project by BeyondBitcoin pioneer, @officialfuzzy.

I followed instructions on Steemit posts how to use whaleshares and I was unsuccessful the first two attemps because I was getting an error, disconnected to the blockhain, I figured out I had to enable that and connect to a the nearest node which was Hong Kong.

Here are the steps:

  1. Go to whaleshares.net and provide the URL of your post. Then the site returns a URL that you need to use as memo in Bitshares when you send the whaleshares to the officialfuzzy account called "whaleshares" or "basic account #179419."
    whaleshares.PNG
  2. Go to your Bitshares or Openledger Wallet. For Bitshares click Send or Send (Legacy), either one will work. Then on the "To:" field type in "whaleshares" then it should populate saying that's "basic account #179419" somewhere on the side. You have to check the lower right hand side make sure you are connected to the blockchain, if not then enable connectivity to the nearest node.
    whales.PNG
  3. Then enter the amount of whaleshares you want to spend and put the URL provided in the whaleshares.net website as memo. Take note it has a fee. I tested 1 whaleshare and the fee was 1 whaleshare as well, meaning I spent 2 whaleshares for 1% upvote of the @officialfuzzy account. Kinda small, but this is just a test, anyway. That's it, matter of 2 seconds, I got an upvote from @officialfuzzy for 1%.
    whales2.PNG

Whaleshares is more than a token, it's a community, I'm glad to lurk in their Discord because it has a Filipino channel. It's cool to know there are Filipinos into whaleshares and beyondbitcoin. I'm done testing whaleshares, I'll try beyondbitcoin next.

whales1.PNG

Thanks for reading! Stay awesome, Steemheads!


Join the house of cool bunch Steemians right here in #steemitachievers!
Follow @steemitachievers.
Join the amazing Pinoy Steemian crypto-heads in #steemitpowerupph!
Follow @steemitpowerupph.


Please support @surpassinggoogle as a witness by voting him here and type in "steemgigs" in the first search box.
If you want to give him witness voting decisions on your behalf, on that same page type in "surpassinggoogle" in the second box as a proxy.
Support his other brainchild projects like #untalented, #steemgigs, #teardrops and #steemsecrets. Thank you!

Sort:  

Thanks for the information. The details of how you converted the whaleshares will be helpful.

mao d ay ni xa

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64513.89
ETH 3155.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00