Whaleshares Curation Show Recap

in #whaleshares6 years ago


Welcome to another recap!


Even though I don't really like picking out posts a few hours prior to the show, I feel like I couldn't have made better choices today, AGAIN.

Without further ado, let's jump into the posts!

I. Remembering recent trips for mushrooms by @yurchello.

@yurchello is a talented artist and a 3D art creator from Bryansk, Russia. He joined the platform 10 days ago and showcased a decent amount of his work already. Today though, I thought I might as well pick a post of his to show you guys what a family fun day looks like to him.

Apparently, they love mushroom hunting! I went hunting for Morel mushrooms in Eastern Kentucky a few years ago, and I didn't spot any, so obviously it ain't an easy task. @yurchello and his family got lucky and they were able to pick a bunch of them as you can tell based on the photos. I don't think I've ever seen mushrooms that big before, not in real life anyway.

If there's a tip or two he can share when it comes to mushroom hunting is to get deep into the woods and to not be lazy. Makes sense to me! If perhaps, there was a thing I could add to it, I'd probably throw in a couple photos of those mushrooms cooked and shared at his family table :).

II. Peony in Gongbi style by @veta-less.

Here is another Russian creative based in Saint Petersburg. I met Svetlana on Steemit a while back, now we're reunited on Whaleshares haha.

If you know anything about me, you probably know that I absolutely love traditional Asian art, and she does such an amazing job creating those, definitely worth a follow if you're into that as well.

Gongbi - is a careful realist technique in Chinese painting that uses highly detailed brushstrokes that delimits details very precisely. Thanks, Wikipedia.

Now with terminology out of the way, let's continue digging into the post. Svetlana says it took her about a month to create this piece since she was taking an online course and practicing the technique at the same time. To paint in this style you would need to use a special kinda paper that is pretty much thinner, than paper thin, you can see through it. She worked using two brushes, one in each hand: one with water and another one with paint and a pair of gloves.

The finished piece has somewhat 25 layers of paint applied to it. Quite impressive!


Now this it for this Monday night, guys. I am pretty content with my choices this time and I hope you enjoy them just as well, feel free to pay a visit to the people I mentioned and give them some love!

Extra content:

  1. Snowy Road. My Walk in the Forest by @milaoz.
  2. Life Will Out - Horror Short Story by @raj808.
  3. Introducing ALEX KEEGAN - Our First Laureate Judge For The SHORT LITERARY FICTION Award by @laureate.
  4. YThe Crab Spider Family by @ruth-girl.
  5. I'll Be Seeing You - (performed by tom balistreri) by @tombalistreri.
  6. A Peek Into Life on a Permaculture Homestead: Introducing @mountainjewel to WhaleShares! by @mountainjewel.

About:
Every week our host, myself, @lindahas, @breezin and a guest curator select 12 posts from #postpromotion channel to present in a live curation that typically starts at 4 PM EST in #live-events channel on Whaleshares server. Anyone is welcome to come along and spectate the discussion and everyone who does tune in and sticks around until the end of the event will be awarded with complimentary assets that are distributed by the host of the show @nikflossus and sponsored by @krazykrista and @krazywitness.
There are no obligatory rules as to what kind of content you should create to catch a curator's attention, we're different people and we like different things; some shoot for longreads they enjoy, some prefer to browse through tutorials or art projects. We are people and our choices are subjective, of course. As the platform grows it gets harder to push your work out there and get noticed. However when it comes to scoping out top quality posts, we try our very best to point out the ones that received very little to no rewards.

To learn more about the Whaleshares Curation Show on Mondays I suggest you join Whaleshares Discord, check out the blog of our host @nikflossus, here's a recent post of his for reference: The Second NEW Whaleshares Curation Show - Tonight 4pm EST 8pm UCT - Special Announcement!.

Image sources:
https://unsplash.com
http://aquaacores.pt

Until next time!

kotturinn-2.png
logo by @kookyan

Sort:  

whale of a crypto bloodbath

I like the publications about your cures, there are people with very interesting things here
I can not stop seeing that picture there are many fish there

Thanks! It's a an image from unsplash.com.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63811.50
ETH 2617.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77